soch vtec swap info needed

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

spades614

i am trying to put soch on 88 honda civic hatch but i dont know i i just get the stock d series block and put soch vtech head on it or if there a specific engine i need also i some one could show me a lnk or something to where they did whole non sosh to vtec soch please help sorry for being a super noob i just came from having a gst eclispe

Last edited:
Wait. Stop. Please fix your grammar so that I can comprehend it.

You want to put an SOHC VTEC in your 88 hatch?

yes but i dont know were to start what block i need or or how to do the wiring or what kind of ucu i need

It depends. Do you want a mini-me or a straight swap? Because the way your talking about blocks and heads sounds like you want a Frankenstein. If you just want an SOHC, then pick up a D16Z6. As far as I know it's a direct bolt in, the wiring is the only real thing you'll have to do. Hit up rywire.com for an obd0->obd1 (I believe, I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong.) jumper, and then you'll have to do some stuff for the ecu that I'm not sure about. Also, pick up an si tranny.

if your doin a z6 direct swap you can just use your old harness from your 88 and hook it up to your new motor the only thing your gunna have to do is a dizzy conversion but just go to the junk yard and cut the clips for it. your gunna have to get a 4 wire o2 sensor and a obd0-obd1 jumper you can get em off ebay for alil cheaper they work fine i have one and get an obd1 ecu like a p28 and just make sure you do all the maintainence items you can when its out of the car too like ifit needs a rear seal an

im super new to hondas so i just want to knlow if any sohc vtec head fit on any d series block or is there certain blocks certain years that the only fit and whats a dizzy

Last edited: