1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

sohc revlimit ?

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by stuntstere, Oct 28, 2005.

  1. stuntstere

    stuntstere Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    I was reading in the reference material and it said that my ecu should have a revlimit at 7600rpm. My car hits revlimit at 6500 rpm. I have no cel or nothing. My car is a 94 civic with the d16z6 and it run fine. I was just wandering if my car is messed up or is that the stock revlimit.
     
  2. nightshift

    nightshift Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Location:
    SOUTH AFRICA
    MY CAR THE D15Z7 VTEC SOHC AND HAS A 7200 RPM REDLINE,
     
  3. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    i dont know what the Z6 revlimier is, but i can tell you its not 650
     
  4. VTECPOWER

    VTECPOWER Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Winchester, VA
    What ecu are you running?
     
  5. stuntstere

    stuntstere Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    it is a p28 or at least that is what the ecu has on it
     
  6. BoostedEM1

    BoostedEM1 Junior Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    damn 6500?? my y8 i usto have redlined at like 7200 i think..vtec at 5800 that redline sounds like a b20 redline but if its a p28 then that aint the case..hmmm..shoot just say screw it and have kenji chip u one to run 7800 *evil grin*
     
  7. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    7600.
    Your ecu is br0xered.
     
  8. stuntstere

    stuntstere Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    I took my ecu out of my car and took the cover off of it and there is no burt spots on the chip board and everything looks fine to me. The cod on the ecu is 37820-P28-A02. I am stumped.
     
  9. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    Try using a friend's ecu and see if that helps?
     
  10. nightshift

    nightshift Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Location:
    SOUTH AFRICA
    is it a vtec engine,and where does the redline start on the tach
     
  11. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    Affirmative. :)
    (and probably ~7500 on the tach)
     
  12. stuntstere

    stuntstere Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
  13. SiR II

    SiR II Junior Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    your limiter should be @ 7,200 because thats where the redline is on those motors.
     
  14. stuntstere

    stuntstere Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    I used my friends ecu and it did the same thing. It the revlimiter at 6500. Then my friend tried my ecu and his car went to 7600 before hitting the revlimiter. So it is not my ecu. What elso could cause my car to do that?
     
  15. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    if its not warmed up it might do the same thing. a lot of times vtec wont hit and you will be limited early if you try to push your car too quickly.

    when my lude was running i would hit the revlimiter in my parking garage at work all the time (6500). but when i was getting on the highway it would hit at 8,000 like normal.
     
  16. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    I think your tach is off [​IMG]
     
  17. stuntstere

    stuntstere Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    I always let my car warm up before I get on it. My friend said it might be my vtec solenoid is bad. Could that cause it?
     
  18. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    its possible. it might not be wired right as well.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page