Sometimes my job's pretty cool.

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

DarkHand

VIP
As many of you know, I'm a facilities manager for Verizon. I take care of a number of administrative buildings in the IL area and keep them running so the folks inside can do their jobs. I recently picked up a call center in Elgin, a big one with about 950 people. Was told we're hosting an event for the employees; Verizon racing is bringing a few of their cars to the parking lot where they'd be shown off along with all the regular promo and merchandising swag. Kind of last minute, but cool! We sectioned off a chunk of the parking lot and the Penske Racing trailer arrived this morning, but it won't be opened until tomorrow. Was talking with the driver, we've got Ryan Briscoe's cup car, Justin Allagaier's Indy Car, and there's a race at Joliet Speedway this weekend... we've got Helio Castroneves' backup car for the event.

I joked about how I'd like to sneak into that one and drive around in it tomorrow, and he mentioned that Helio might not like that when he's here signing autographs. :eek:

Turns out all three drivers will be here!! (Well not Justin, he was just in a big crash, a backup drive will be here). I've got to work with them and make sure they're able to get around the building and have a backup place inside to sign autographs from if it rains. I think the D90 is going to accidentally follow me to work tomorrow.

It's not an easy job, and the pay isn't the best, but sometimes it's pretty cool :)

Last edited:
i am so sick of verizon corporate. we get a P2P T1 installed... and they charged us $2200 for the routers and never shipped them. no record, no tracking, no nothing. they expect us to pay the install and service fees but where is the completed install and service? TWO MONTHS we have been waiting for those routers and they have charged us for TWO MONTHS of service.

fuck them. we aren't paying one penny :)