1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

spedo on crack any ideas?

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by WannabeSI, Feb 17, 2004.

  1. WannabeSI

    WannabeSI Senior Member

    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    I swapped a USDM 2000 SI engine in my 97 EX had it all wired and worked fine for about a week then all at once the knock sensor started throwing a code, vtec stopped engaging and my spedo died. If i step on the gass the needle goes up but if i let off the gas it drops to zero. It used to work. all the fuses are fine and the knock sensor is plugged in. Im not sure why its not working. its also a 2000 so i dont think the vss would be bad and it has never been touched so i dont think it is loose or any thing. is there something maybe wireing wise that would affect all of this? any ideas? the Vss worked fine in the si and i pulled it and put the swap directly in the 97 it has never been messed with. if you guys have any ideas of what could be wrong let me know.

    Thanks
     
  2. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,036
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    ECU?
     
  3. WannabeSI

    WannabeSI Senior Member

    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    the ecu is an obd2 p30 i will try the ex ecu and see if the spedo and vtec work and let you know
     
  4. WannabeSI

    WannabeSI Senior Member

    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    well.... i tried the ex ecu and the vtec and spedo worked but was still throwing knock sensor then i tried the p30 again and didnt work so i put the ex ecu back in ang now it wont work on either. when i first did my swap i didnt tighten down the ecu ground on the thermostat and it was making alot of clicking noises do you think i could have fried the ecu? do you think if i had a fried ecu that it could fry the VSS and knock sensor? what do you think?
     
  5. WannabeSI

    WannabeSI Senior Member

    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    well, i know it is something electrical because now the spedo works and vtec works but if i use my turn signal the spedo goes up and down with the clicks of the turn signal and if i turn my headlights on the spedo drops all the way. and when my spedo doesnt work my vtec doesnt work. any ideas????
     
  6. Slammed90Lude

    Slammed90Lude Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Location:
    milford, PA
    hmmmm, to post a very vague answer it sounds like there is a problem in your wiring- perhaps something is miswired or shorted- i dunno exactly what to tell you, but i would get a helms wiring diagram and do some searching
     
  7. mrnice1058

    mrnice1058 Senior Member

    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Location:
    Pa
    you know i have the same problem but it is my tac. if you find a way to get it to work let me know to maybe i have an electronic problem that i don't even know about :roll:
     
  8. projectxspeed

    projectxspeed Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    This is one of those really annoying problems because you have lots of things going on at once. The first thing I always check is grounds. If you have ground problems it can do anything and everything. My friend had a problem with his swap vtec wouldn't work. Everything was wired correctly; 3 people checked it. We were at a loss. Turns out that at his wire connections there was A SINGLE F*CKING STRAIND OF WIRE touching metal. Once we clipped it everything was solid and we had vtec.

    Short version

    Check grounds
    Carefully check all your wires that pretain to the ecu
     
  9. Slammed90Lude

    Slammed90Lude Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Location:
    milford, PA
  10. cws13

    cws13 Senior Member

    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Location:
    Athens,GA
    Yes an arcing wire can fry an ECU. Check your other grounds as well, sounds like you have a short somewhere and fix it now (or stop driving it), before you fry something else. Electrical problems smoking wires inside of a harness can make for interesting fun you can't see. I had an entire CR-V completely gutted to find one frayed wire once. Good luck.
     
  11. WannabeSI

    WannabeSI Senior Member

    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    ITS FIXED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

    turns out there was a bit of anitfreeze that spilled into the VSS plug when i dropped it out of the si and disconnected the coolant lines. I sprayed some brake cleaner in there to evaporate everything and put in some electrical grease to help the connection and it works like a charm. and now that my spedometer works vtec works too!
     
  12. Hatchbacks Anonymous

    Hatchbacks Anonymous Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Location:
    Anonymous

    :bo: :lmao: :bo: :lol:

    Now that is some funny stuff!
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page