1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Speed govenor on a pr3

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by n8dawg, Aug 15, 2004.

  1. n8dawg

    n8dawg Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    I took it to this Cammaro the other night and passed it at 120 but the the govenor on my pr3 told me i couldnt go any faster. I know the b16a in my 89 crx hf with i/h/e is fully capable of going 140ish, does anyone know where I can get a cheap mod for the ecu to take off the govenor?
     
  2. allbottledup

    allbottledup Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,548
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Location:
    Galloway, NJ
    talk to the guys on here about getting a eprom chip for it. Or the cheap way is unplug your speed sensor.
     
  3. blngblngskater

    blngblngskater Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    does the speed sensor also control the rev limiter
    how do you take rev limiter off if not
     
  4. cheese9988

    cheese9988 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,989
    Likes Received:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    The rev limiter is set by the computer and cannot be changed without a reprogram, in most cases this is something you don't want to change. You can unplug the speed sensor and will work you will just get a cel light.
     
  5. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    don't un plug the fucking speed sensor. too many other things rely on it.... like VTEC for one, your speedometer for another

    they sell $20 resistors or things like it at stores all over to simply plug inline .. google it up
     
  6. radnulb

    radnulb Senior Member

    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    Sinsinnaty, Ohio


    Misinformation:

    1. on 4G cars, the VSS is in the speedo in the cluster, so if you unplug the speedo wire from the ECU, you do not lose the speedo on the dash. (You are correct that vtec gets a little unhappy)

    2. $20 resistor will not do the job unless something really weird is going on. VSS = 4 pulses per turn of the wheels. resistor doesn't turn a pulse train into a lower frequency pulse train.
     
  7. cheese9988

    cheese9988 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,989
    Likes Received:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    oops I forget about the b16 having vtec, you tend forget about those things when you have a zc. :p


    Out of curiosity how fast does the wheel turn at say 50mph? I mean what would you use to figure that out.
     
  8. LsVtecInteg

    LsVtecInteg Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Best Thing to do is Ebay, the sell performance chips for like $22 shipped and all you do is sotter it in, it takes away the govener and also the rev limiter is brought up higher and better fuel curve so on and so forth....
     
  9. allbottledup

    allbottledup Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,548
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Location:
    Galloway, NJ
    i dont have vtec so doing things like that doesnt effect me at all. Ill say thats one nice thing about not having it some of the less electrical problems.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page