1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Speedo doesn't work after swap...

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by 5genracer, Jul 3, 2004.

  1. 5genracer

    5genracer Senior Member

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Location:
    Frozen north - ND
    Ok, I have a 98 dx hatch with a 00 d16y8 in it. I have a 98 ex auto engine wiring harness, converted to work with the manual tranny setup I have, with a conversion harness to run a p28 ecu. I have no check engine lights, and the car runs fine, but the speedo doesn't work. Actually the check engine light does turn on, but only because the speedo isn't working.

    I checked the wires at the plug and I get 12 volts, a good ground, and the 4.9 volt signal wire. I have swapped out the cluster, vss, and also the computer and always the same thing, no speedo or odometer.

    I checked the fuses under the dash, all good.

    I have no idea where the wire goes once it is in the harness and I don't really want to cut the harness open to find out. Does the output signal go to the computer and then to the speedo? Which pin on the ecu does the vss signal go to (location and color). My haynes manual doesn't tell me jack about the vss wiring.

    Thanks for your help, this is really frustrating!!
     
  2. asmallsol

    asmallsol Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Houghton/Livonia Michigan
    I know it may sound dumb, but 2 swaps that I have done, each time, the speedo doesn't work. Reason that is, is because each time, you think that the VSS plug is all the way on, but its not. Take it off, then put it on until it clicks.
     
  3. 5genracer

    5genracer Senior Member

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Location:
    Frozen north - ND
    Yeah, it has been unplugged and plugged in 20-30 times, still the same.
     
  4. 5genracer

    5genracer Senior Member

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Location:
    Frozen north - ND
    just though of something. The plug that came with my wiring harness was broken, so I pulled the pins out and put a new plug on there. I wonder if the wires are in the wrong spot? Can anyone go look at their plug and tell me what order the wires are in? Just to have us on the same page, hold the plug so that you are looking at it from the vss side, with the clip on the top. Thanks!
     
  5. 5genracer

    5genracer Senior Member

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Location:
    Frozen north - ND
    never mind, fixed it. wire was broken in the wiring harness
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page