1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Speedo On Crack!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by 96EKB18C5, Oct 29, 2006.

  1. 96EKB18C5

    96EKB18C5 New Member

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Just swapped a 2001 ITR into my 96 civ coupe.When I sit at idle or get to 5000 rpm+ my speedo goes nuts, bouncing from 0-120mph. I bought a po6 reflashed from Kenji's ecus.Bad mapping? Or is my car on crack!:eek:
     
  2. killercannible

    killercannible Senior Member

    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    your speedo and tach go crazy i am geussing. Those go crazy when the ground wire on the water neck on the back of the block is loose. The same thing happened to me.
     
  3. 96EKB18C5

    96EKB18C5 New Member

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Thanks bro.I was hoping it was something simple like that.Here's another one, last night I was driving down from Big Bear and my headlights started flickering, but only when I was on a down hill.The flickering would go away once I started giving it gas. Is this from the same ground wire problem?
     
  4. iwantahb

    iwantahb New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Yes...
     
  5. killercannible

    killercannible Senior Member

    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    or your battery is low. That kind of thing is common after a swap for a while.
     
  6. EG6Civic83

    EG6Civic83 New Member

    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    or your alternator is going out.
     
  7. 96EKB18C5

    96EKB18C5 New Member

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    I found something last night that may also cause a problem i think.The part that registers the miles on top of the tranny, its gear drivin and has a electrical plug on top,not sure what its called.Anyways the part that bolts to the tranny has been broken off, so its not totally secured to the trannny.Does that piece serve as a ground for the plug?
     
  8. 96EKB18C5

    96EKB18C5 New Member

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Oh, and I checked my grond wire and no dice.But thanks for the sugestion killercannible.And the battery is brand new.The alt though, that could be it. I swapped that from the old D16y8, and have never replaced it since I owned the car.
     
  9. iwantahb

    iwantahb New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    That is the VSS (Vehicle Speed Sensor), and no it doesn't serve as a ground. But it could be free spinning or reading a incorrect reading if it is not secure...
     
  10. josuedc2

    josuedc2 Senior Member

    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Buffalo,N.Y
    alternator. same happend to me.i bougth speed sensor & cluster.it was the alternator.
     
  11. 96EKB18C5

    96EKB18C5 New Member

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Well, I planned buying a alternator one of these days.what do you recomend amperage wise? I'm run'in 2 amps=600watts, MSD ignition/cap/coil/nology wires.How much did you pay for that speed sensor?
     
  12. josuedc2

    josuedc2 Senior Member

    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Buffalo,N.Y
    buy,alternator. that was on my d16y8,now i need to know which alternator fits a jdm b16.LOL
     
  13. 96EKB18C5

    96EKB18C5 New Member

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page