1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

speedo problem

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by joecivic, Sep 12, 2006.

  1. joecivic

    joecivic save the single cams

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    baltimore
    my speedometer does not work Ive replaced the VSS and got nothing, my car is a dx and I put the gauge from a ex in it worked for a long time and then quit I dont know if theres a fuse or what any help whould be appreciated
     
  2. DwnShftPrincess

    DwnShftPrincess Senior Member

    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Location:
    Orangeburg, SC
    join the club. does the speed hand jump around and cut on and off?
     
  3. MadMaXXX

    MadMaXXX Mad Man

    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    USA
    yep same here

    still have my old dx cluster but i would rather have a tach than a speedo anyway
     
  4. joecivic

    joecivic save the single cams

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    baltimore
    no it dosent do any thing when I first replaced the VSS it jumped uped I time to like 40mph and hasnt moved since
     
  5. FamilyD

    FamilyD Runs like a scalded dog!!

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Location:
    Nashville,TN
    Refer to Helms Troubleshooting Chart begining on page 23-140.

    Number 1 reason... blown 15A fuse @ location #24 w/SRS (#12 w/o SRS)
    Number 2 reason... run speed sensor input test (see Helms pg. 23-140)

    Could be poor ground @ G201 or G401 (see Helms)

    Could be several other things... SEE HELMS!!!
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2006
  6. joecivic

    joecivic save the single cams

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    baltimore
  7. 94hdelsol

    94hdelsol New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Location:
    Orlando, Fl.
    Check the ground near the thermostat under the hood. It should be with 4-5 black wire connecting with a 10mm bolt. I had that same problem before while we were doing a motor swap. A friend of mine losened it up for what reason? I dont know but it took us an hr to figure it out. Good luck.


    HRF - Orlando Fl.
     
  8. indeauto

    indeauto New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    check the prelude shop manual

    don't know if you solved it yet. I have same problem with mine -- mechanic finally diagnosed it as a bad VSS electrical control (the part that sits on top of the mechanical shaft). anyway, while searching for solution, i found a detailed diagnostic test in the Prelude shop manual which you can download from this site.

    M
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page