1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

speedo stopped working ???

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by custompainter, Jan 24, 2007.

  1. custompainter

    custompainter drive it like U stole it

    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Location:
    central CT
    new problem i got my car back to gether finaly and now my speedo is not working i checked the plug and didnt see any problems and i went and barrowed my buddies from his car and i know his works and still nothing does any one have a clue as to what might be causing it to not work
     
  2. igotnothin

    igotnothin New Member

    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    harford co MD
    what have you done with your car...did you just swap in a new engine....need some more info...did you do any wireing...

    sounds like maby your spedo itself needs replacing...
     
  3. custompainter

    custompainter drive it like U stole it

    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Location:
    central CT
    i just did the clutch wich might have something to do with it but i also tryed rewiring the car for a p2p ecu and i couldn't get it working right so i put it back to a p2e i used a conversion harness and i switched pin a15 for the gas relay everything is back to the way it was so i can figure out what i might be
     
  4. bigballsmagerki

    bigballsmagerki 95 ex

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    I'm not to knowledge about this.... But I just put in a new clutch and flywheel, When i started it and tested it for the first time mine didnt work either. A check engine light came on, All it turned out to be was the connection on the transmission was loose. That little plug you can see if you pop the hood.
     
  5. 801CRX

    801CRX Got Rice?

    Messages:
    1,347
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    UTAH
    Its called a back-up switch on your tranny.
    The connection could be loose or not connected at all.
     
  6. Domi31

    Domi31 Member

    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Location:
    Nor Cal
    :withstupid:

    check the connection, make shure the wires werent cut or anything like that too.
    if not that maybe your speedo went out on the cluster itself, your can replace the cirict on the back of the cluster
     
  7. joecivic

    joecivic save the single cams

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    baltimore
    did u replace the speed sensor
     
  8. custompainter

    custompainter drive it like U stole it

    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Location:
    central CT
    i tryed replacing the sensor had no luck with that

    ? how do you replace the circut on the back of the cluster
     
  9. 96EKB18C5

    96EKB18C5 New Member

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Does your speedo do anything at all?I had the same problem after my swap but my speedo would freak-out 0-120mph when was setting in traffic.It turned out to be my main ground wire from the battery.It appeared to be fine, no corrosion or anything,but when I replaced it problem solved!
     
  10. welfare

    welfare Ancient Member

    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    No, its called a vehicle speed sensor, but the connection needs to be tight and free of any corrosion or liquids.

    check the plug to make sure that you didn;t bend a pin when you tried to plug it back into the speed sensor.
     
  11. custompainter

    custompainter drive it like U stole it

    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Location:
    central CT
    let me check that out i sprayed some cleaner in the plug to see if it was dirty it might not of disolved
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page