1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

speedometer not working

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by vpower, Nov 21, 2009.

  1. vpower

    vpower New Member

    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    L.A.
    Speedometer quit working on my 91 si hatch...what can it be???its not the speed cable cuz I triple checked it and its firmly plugged in...need some help...thanx
     
  2. ZCpowerdSI

    ZCpowerdSI New Member

    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    take the cover off the cluster and wiggle the wires in the back of the cluster. prolly a bad connection (because of its age). same exact thing happend to me. same exact car.
     
  3. vpower

    vpower New Member

    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    L.A.
    Kewl thanx...will try today
     
  4. vpower

    vpower New Member

    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    L.A.
    Kewl thanx...will try today
     
  5. pooksy64

    pooksy64 RidetilldeathdousparT

    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    HOUSTON tX
    have u checked the VSS? if the ecu cannot see a clear voltage reading most of the time it wont allow the guage to wrk
     
  6. egfreak

    egfreak New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Location:
    hollywood fl
    mite be a loose wire in the wiring harness could if u want to double check the harness
     
  7. ZCpowerdSI

    ZCpowerdSI New Member

    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    if you havn't done it already... when you take the cover off, unplug the harness from the cluster plug it back in and drive it without the cover on. if it still doest work try wiggling the wires while moving.. NOTE. this is just to find out if its a bad connection. if this is the problem, get it fixed!!
     
  8. shdw b18c

    shdw b18c New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Location:
    CALI
    forget the trouble bro just get a new one trust me if its all jacked up it probably just will never be right but first make sure you check all the connections like vss and behind cluster
     
  9. kidkg24

    kidkg24 New Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Location:
    west
    when you remove the cover over the top of the cluster. unplug the cable, and pull on it softly. if it comes out then the cable was binding and brook in the sleeve. Autozone sells a universal cable for the honda Acura cable for $6.99 PART#03369..... BUY IT CUT IT, CRIMP IT, DRIVE IT (GOOD TO GO)
     
  10. kidkg24

    kidkg24 New Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Location:
    west
    If the cable was making a noise before it quit working it will be a rusted, or weak cable that brook. I have saw this on more that one occasion. I will be more common on cars from the east or mid west because of the rain, snow, old age I guess. Good luck and tell use what works..
     
  11. riceracerex

    riceracerex D-Series Ninja

    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pryor, Ok
    Are there any soldering points that may have went south?
     
  12. kidkg24

    kidkg24 New Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Location:
    west
    No, the cable is compressesd square on one side, and crimped on the end that goes into the trans speed unit. The cable is only like $20 on ebay or $55.00 at the dealer. that way cheaper then a speeding ticket, unless you don't pay tickets.lol
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page