1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SRS and Vtech problems

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by mark35, Jul 8, 2010.

  1. mark35

    mark35 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Hello every one

    I'm a newbie so be gentle on me

    I have bought a Honda civic type r which was a cat c. Fitted driver / passenger air bags and seatbelts and a srs unit. Reset SRS light but comes back on. I have seen on the internet that you can get the fault message through OB2 connnetor by linking certain connections which is supposed to flash up code number.
    1.Is this true
    2. Is there anything else I should have done, i.e seatbelt buckles

    Also while in my drive way have let the car warm up I have revved the engine up to 5500rpm and the rev limiter seems to kickin. Checked the oil level and it is just over the mininum mark. I have reset the ECU. I have no engine fault lights. I have checked with a hand held diagnostic tool which doesn't show any codes I'm presuming the car would of ran o.k before it was written off. Could there be anything else wrong i'm unaware of.

    If this has been covered before please don't shout at me:D
     
  2. mark35

    mark35 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Sorry failed to mention my car is a 2003 civic type r
     
  3. tabKola

    tabKola New Member

    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Tewksbury MA
    If it won't rev past 5500 in your driveway it might be because the ECU won't activate VTEC unless the car is moving.
     
  4. mark35

    mark35 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Do you know this for definite or is this just a guess, as this would surprise me.

    What happens when you do a standing start. Surely you'd Be allowed to rev past 5500rpm to get that VTech buzz:rolleyes:
     
  5. newb

    newb phresh VIP

    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    179
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Backwoods Northwest
    If the car isnt rolling VTEC (NOTE THE SPELLING) wont hit. Why would you need the extra power from VTEC if the car is standing still?

    EDIT: Something isnt right if you cant rev over 5500, and its not because VTEC isnt hitting.
     
  6. mark35

    mark35 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Sorry VTEC, is the second set of cam lobes which give you extra power.

    You need the extra power from the VTEC when standing still so you can do a standing start and get the best 0-60, not that you do that in real life apart from racing.
     
  7. newb

    newb phresh VIP

    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    179
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Backwoods Northwest
    Is that so?

    My post was confirming this. My question was full of sarcasm. The car will not egage VTEC unless the car is already rolling, and it reaches the RPM that the VTEC crossover is set to.
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2010
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page