1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

stereo help...

Discussion in 'Car Audio / Security / Electronic Accessories' started by eg6sir, Jan 22, 2008.

  1. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    alright.. i went to put my CD player in my pickup and the power cord plug fell apart when i unplugged it from the craptastic tape deck in there.. .. .. from looking at it, it doesnt seem that i'll be able to splice it back together

    thoughts on this??

    will i need to replace the whole cord??
     

    Attached Files:

  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    i think you can splice it and it work,,but it wont work as good as a new one
     
  3. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    well, i went to the junkyard and chopped one off a old toyota and from looking at it.. it doesnt look like it'll work by splicing.. i'll be heading to a buddies house who is an electrician and i'll see what he says..
     
  4. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    well just try it if it dont work, you know what to do
     
  5. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    he told me its a co-ax cable.. its not repairable.. just need to buy another or strip one from a car at the junkyard.. now i gotta find out how this is routed to replace it
     
  6. get_nick

    get_nick These snozzberries taste like snozzberries... VIP

    Messages:
    11,939
    Likes Received:
    1,059
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Washington State
    what is the co-ax for? i don't think you need it on newer decks.
     
  7. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl

    same thing i was gonna say. Hell it looked like an antenna to me:D

    good luck. You might be better off just running a new poer wire but i guess you need that cord or else you wouldnt be posting.:ph34r:
     
  8. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    its the power cord.. the thick black one that plugs into the back..
     
  9. popeye

    popeye Banned

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Altoona, Ps
    I can't tell from the picture but it sounds like the antenna cable.
     
  10. get_nick

    get_nick These snozzberries taste like snozzberries... VIP

    Messages:
    11,939
    Likes Received:
    1,059
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Washington State
    i think it's the antenna cable also. if you don't listen to the radio you should be fine. if you need a new power cable, you can just run one from your battery or ignition.
     
  11. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    hmm.. why the hell isnt the radio powering on then?? grr..
     
  12. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    umm yea its the antenna
     
  13. alEXej8

    alEXej8 New Member

    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    Hubbardston, MASS
    Yeah thats just the antenna wire, if you don't need/have to hear the radio don't plug it in, not that big of a deal.
     
  14. get_nick

    get_nick These snozzberries taste like snozzberries... VIP

    Messages:
    11,939
    Likes Received:
    1,059
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Washington State
    check all your grounds and power cables.
     
  15. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    yea.. i really dont need an antenna.. i only listen to my ipod anyways
     
  16. neonmike

    neonmike Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,308
    Likes Received:
    114
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    and your electrician friend is totally wrong it is repairable i do it all the time at work. head to a car audio shop and the sell the new ends to go on the antenna cable they just crimp on.
     
    1 person likes this.
  17. daveholiday

    daveholiday Do work

    Messages:
    1,820
    Likes Received:
    47
    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    It is the antennae cable, however, for some reason it seems to keep headunits from powering on without it, mine did the same thing when I put it in and thought my radio was busted, till I realized I forgot to put it in. This same split did however happen to me yesterday, when I pulled my radio out to prep the car for sale. Honestly, if you don't listen to the radio, splice the wire, so that the headunit will power on, and continue to not use the radio.
     
    1 person likes this.
  18. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    theres one down the street.. i'll head over there in the morning and see what they say
     
  19. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    its your ground wire. gotta be. take the stereo ground off and relocate it. It look like it was using the antenna as a ground.......which is a pretty weak signal.

    run a new one and see what happens. thoses antennas are easy to replace. you just have to take off alot of crap to slide it in and out.
     
  20. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    well, i redid all the wiring and it turns on now.. but i'm not getting any sound out of the speakers.. grrr... this is really pissing me off.. i suppose i can run the wire straight to the speakers from the deck.. so i know its connected.. time to run to the store to buy some wire and some more connectors
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page