1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stuck in park

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by 402streetracer, Apr 23, 2008.

  1. 402streetracer

    402streetracer New Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    Omaha NE
    I was wondering if anybody knew what i could check too see. The shifter (auto) on my 95 civic is stuck in park, if i stick the key in the release hole it works and drives fine but if not it' stays in P and wont move. Any help would be appreciated thanks
     
  2. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    problem with the interlock control unit, or problem with the wiring to the shift lock solinoid, or the solindoid itself is bad. or it's not getting a signal from the brake pedal switch informing it when the brake is pressed. those are the only peices of that circuit.
     
  3. 402streetracer

    402streetracer New Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    Omaha NE
    ok, ill check those out thanks man.
     
  4. 402streetracer

    402streetracer New Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    Omaha NE
    i didnt realize i put this in the wrong section, could a mod please move it. thanks
     
  5. 402streetracer

    402streetracer New Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    Omaha NE
    i think it's the brake lamp switch, but would that stop the tail lights from coming on if it was bad too?
     
  6. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    not necessarily if it's a break in the circuit after the junction where it splits (one part goes to the relay for your brake lights, the other to your ECU). or a break in the circuit between the ECU and the interlock unit
     
  7. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    it could just be the solinoid is shot. i dont know off hand how to test it. is yours known to be good? have u tested it or swapped it out?
     
  8. 402streetracer

    402streetracer New Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    Omaha NE
    Nope i havent changed/tested it i'm fixing up the sedan to sell to buy a 5spd but yesterday when i went go to the autoparts in it it was stuck in P and i had to use the lock release, then last night when i checked the rear lights are out all the bulbs are fine, Front lights work but the rear is out but the signals do work. where is the solinoid?
     
  9. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    the solinoid is in the shifter assembly. but, ...

    ...you say the back lights dont work, and the bulbs are fine? does your horn work?

    if your horn works, but your brake lights dont, then you have a faulty brake pedal switch.

    if your horn doesnt work as well, check the fuse. the fuse is called "horn/brake system". should be fuse 42 in the underhood fuse box, and should use a 20A fuse.

    best of luck! ;)
     
  10. 402streetracer

    402streetracer New Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    Omaha NE
    ok checked the horn it was out replaced the fuse you said shifter and horn work, tail lights are still out prob just another fuse though ill check em. thanks alot man!
     
  11. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    well you might have a short. the horn fuse is the same as the brake fuse. maybe the switch is also messed up. sounds like good progress tho, glad i could help

    notta problem :thumbsup:
     
  12. 402streetracer

    402streetracer New Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    Omaha NE
    Well they work when i press the brake, they dont come on when i turn the lights on.
     
  13. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    oh i see. tail lights/dash lights is fuse 19, 10A in the underdash fuse box
     
  14. 402streetracer

    402streetracer New Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    Omaha NE
    well the fuse was blown but i'm not sure what's goin on everytime i put one in, and turn the lights on it blows the fuse
     
  15. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    well that means you've got a short someplace. you'll need to bust out the multimeter.

    i have wiring diagrams i can give you, but it's up to you if you feel like you can do it. wiring is something it seems a lot of people are scared of, or cant grasp. you might want to take it to a shop if you dont feel like you can do it.

    but yeah lmk if you want the diagrams or not.
     
  16. 402streetracer

    402streetracer New Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    Omaha NE
    yeah man i'm up to it' send em my way. no fear here lol
     
  17. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    ight :D

    ...wiring's my fav heh

    this is a huge picture, and it's the USA model. lmk if ur in Canada, eh.

    you want everything associated with fuse 19, and the red/black wire, etc.
     

    Attached Files:

    • diag.jpg
      diag.jpg
      File size:
      335.2 KB
      Views:
      60
  18. 402streetracer

    402streetracer New Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    Omaha NE
    me too, i love doing wire stuff.

    good thing i got a large format printer ; D

    oh and i'm in USA
     
  19. 402streetracer

    402streetracer New Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    Omaha NE
    it's something with the stereo or ( in that area ), if i pull the stereo out and disconnect it. the lights work fine. turned em off and on about 15 times with the car on and off never failed once. but as soon as i reconnect the stereo it blows 19 again
     
  20. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    dash lights also incorporate part of the dimming circuit. check possibly the bulbs that illuminate the radio and such to make sure they're in all the way. not too sure without looking at it in front of me :\

    keep postin updates i guess.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page