1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stuck on loading windows, and crashes on safe mode... someone help

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by TurboRex90, Jun 26, 2009.

  1. TurboRex90

    TurboRex90 Golden EG

    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    My brothers Dell Inspiron 6000 laptop recently started to "hang" on the loading windows screen, weve let it sit for 20mins and still just sits at the loading screen. Tried to boot it in safe mode a couple of times and it will blue screen and crash after too long.
    He's running Vista Home Premium, the original OS was XP though. Computer has been running fine on vista for over a year now.

    Anyone have a clue whats wrong, were tryin not to loose some valuable data by doing a wipe and reinstall.

    Been searching google for a bit and im finding some posts of people with a smiliar issue, but nothing of value to help, and ive yet to call Dell and talk to someone because its a hassle trying to talk to them.

    Would appreciate some feedback, helpful feedback.

    Thanks
     
  2. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,579
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    need the bluescreen error codes if you can get them.
     
  3. TurboRex90

    TurboRex90 Golden EG

    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    will do, ill work on gettin you the code.
     
  4. TurboRex90

    TurboRex90 Golden EG

    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    I let the computer boot into safe mode, it took a half hour to log in to my admin account. I ran a system restore to try to restore whatever may be causing it, the restore completed and the comp rebooted back into normal mode, hung on the loading screen again.

    I sat there for 45min, and no blue screen so ill try again another time because that was a waste of 45min. haha
     
  5. DarkHand

    DarkHand Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    241
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Hook the hard drive up to another computer and copy the data you want to save, then reinstall fresh. Or install fresh to another partition and move your data over. Or boot off a USB stick and save it there, then reinstall fresh and copy it back.

    Either way, there's a pattern to all those options. :)
     
  6. ProbablyEating

    ProbablyEating New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Same problem i had. solution? reformatted the beeotch
     
  7. TurboRex90

    TurboRex90 Golden EG

    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    And what about loosing important shit on it?
     
  8. corvetteguy78

    corvetteguy78 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    3,519
    Likes Received:
    290
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    if your shit is that important you should have backed it up......that problem could be 1 of 10000 things....you need to take it to a PC shop and have them fix it professionaly
     
  9. whiterabbit06

    whiterabbit06 Why oh why didn't I take the blue pill? VIP

    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    312
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Crestview, Fl
    Laptop to IDE Hard Drive Adapter - Cables To Go
    Get this and hook up the drive to a desktop then copy what you need. Then put the drive back into the laptop and format then reinstall Vista. I know of a few people that had problems with upgrading an OS but when they did a fresh format/install they didn't have them.
     
  10. TurboRex90

    TurboRex90 Golden EG

    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ok so the error that came up when i finally got it to blue screen said:

    Session 3 Initialization Failed.

    Wtf ever that means.
     
  11. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,579
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    a quick google search shows either a bad CD, failing CDROM drive or failing hard drive.
     
    1 person likes this.
  12. TurboRex90

    TurboRex90 Golden EG

    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    well theres no CD in it, so that eliminates two options. Ruh Roh.

    Thanks bud.
     
  13. kriz

    kriz New Member

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Illinois
    Hanging up at the loading screen and BSOD is probably some of the most common OS failures out there, could be a ton of things from a simple corruption of system files to a bad HDD.

    If you care about your data get an external enclosure or hook the drive up as a secondary in another pc and get all of your data off. Once you do that go out and BUY AN EXTERNAL!!! They're about $100 for a 500GB drive, if you have important data on your computer then just go out and get one it'll save you a lot of headaches.

    After that, reformat - quickest, easiest, safest way to repair OS issues. Then if you really want to know download some disk checking utility like DFT and run it overnight to see if the drive's bad.
     
  14. DarkHand

    DarkHand Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    241
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
  15. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,579
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    i recommend SpinRite...
     
  16. TurboRex90

    TurboRex90 Golden EG

    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland

    My brother has 2 like 500GB \external HD, but he never saved some of the more recent important documents onto it.
     
  17. kriz

    kriz New Member

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Illinois
    My brother has 2 like 500GB \external HD

    All the more reason why you should back up your stuff.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page