1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

sunpro super tach problem

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by yodaesu, Feb 8, 2009.

  1. yodaesu

    yodaesu New Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    I hooked up a second tach in my 89 crx one of the smaller super tachs
    im pretty sure ive got power because the light for it goes on.
    I connected the green wire which is supposedly the tach signal wire to to the blue cable coming of the dissy but still no signal.
    Im not sure if that is the right spot ive heard it from a couple people
    can someone please specify the best spot to put this wire.
     
  2. capricefrk013

    capricefrk013 is waiting for summer

    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Location:
    NE OHIO
    Well I just looked at the install manual for that and all looks good. You do use the blue at the dizzy. That is where I got mine hooked up at. I would say use an autometer. I have it and its very reliable.
     
  3. yodaesu

    yodaesu New Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    damn then i dont know whats wrong.
    should it be hooked up right from the dissy or after the multiple wire thing.
     
  4. capricefrk013

    capricefrk013 is waiting for summer

    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Location:
    NE OHIO
    Mine is hooked up right at the dizzy. You can get the signal from the ecu as well but im not sure what pin it is.
     
  5. yodaesu

    yodaesu New Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    grr thank you for the info man, im going to try my friends tach and see if its just mine
     
  6. capricefrk013

    capricefrk013 is waiting for summer

    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Location:
    NE OHIO
  7. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    you actually ran a wire into the engine bay and spliced it into the wire off of the dizzy? dear lord. *facepalm* and an autozone sunpro tach no less. to each his own i guess.

    there is no rpm signal input or ouput from your ecu. tap into the blue wire at your gauge cluster plug for the rpm signal.
     
  8. yodaesu

    yodaesu New Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    just plain blue or blue with yellow stripe

    im sorry if your offended about my "autozone" tach
     
  9. capricefrk013

    capricefrk013 is waiting for summer

    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Location:
    NE OHIO
    Whats wrong with getting the signal at the dizzy? There aint nothing wrong with that.
     
  10. yodaesu

    yodaesu New Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    i know what he means though, splicing with the dissy wire could alter spark transfer after a while of wear and tear
     
  11. capricefrk013

    capricefrk013 is waiting for summer

    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Location:
    NE OHIO
    Not if it is done properly. Im a stickler for my wiring. Has to be done right and not look like anything was added just by looking.
     
  12. yodaesu

    yodaesu New Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    yea same here and i always wrap it tight, but its still not giving me a signal
     
  13. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Its ghetto to run a wire into the engine bay and hook it directly up to the distributor is what i'm getting at. the signal wire as i said comes into the car so why would you run a wire into the bay, its unnecessary. i personally dont understand why someone would need another tach anyway. if you have a stock one use it. if not, swap out your stock cluster for one that has a tach.

    to yodaesu, the wire at the cluster plug is just blue.
     
  14. yodaesu

    yodaesu New Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    yeah i understand its kind of pointless to hook it up to the dizzy but ive searched everywhere and the only thing i could find was people saying to either hook it up to the dissy or the ignition coil, which is the same wire.

    but i will deffinatley switch it over to the gauge cluster.
     
  15. yodaesu

    yodaesu New Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    *bump for update

    it worked, thanks hatch.. i just pulled the wire back through covered the dissy wire and ran the tach wire through my dash to my gauge. looks nice works like a super tach!
     
  16. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    i always liked those little sunpro tachs before i got my oem evo one. they work great, and are discreet.
     
  17. yodaesu

    yodaesu New Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    yeah exactly, i put it in my center consoles right heater vent that broke off so it fills the gap haha.
    And im boosting soon so im going to set up my gauge pod for boost and oil press.
    and i might knock out the other heater vent for a water temp and or air/fuel gauge.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page