suspension upgrade

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

fatdudesurfin

hey i'm new here, and i've got a question to start out with

i'm in the market for a relatively simple suspension upgrade on my 2000 civic ex sedan (upgrade from stock), and because i have very little knowledge on the basics of the car's suspension and what i should be looking for, im wondering if any of you could point me to some good information about upgrading suspension/springs (for a noob, yup).
basically, im just trying to learn what parts would need upgrading, and THEN which brands and parts i should go with. im interested in a setting mainly for daily driving, with a nice little drop, but without sacrificing too much stiffness/handling performance. cheapness is good, but if the best bang for the buck is expensive, ill have to go for that.

as of now, there are no mods on my car, so if you feel im beginning in the wrong area, let me know. thanks for the help tho

1. welcome to HS :wave:
2. there is a horrid amount of info on stuff like this, and this a great place to have people help you sort through it.
3. everyone has differing opinions on stuff like this, but here goes my .02

from the sound of it your just looking for a nice drop, cause stock ride height is stupid. to stay as basic as possible the only thing you need to change are your springs, you will lose ride quality, and that all depends on which spring you get. personally if you just want to drop it, and arent goin to roadrace/auto-x then just your springs will be fine. if you are looking at getting into competing i would highly recommend changing your damper as well.

i would recommend EITHER

just springs (Eibach Sportline, Neuspeed Street) you can run those on stock dampers. stuff like Tein/Tanabe/Neuspeed Race/Eibach Prokit are gonna require new dampers, cause you will blow your stock ones.