1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

swap help plz

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by quadboy2002, Jun 13, 2007.

  1. quadboy2002

    quadboy2002 fed-town racer

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    washington
    i just got my 91 hatch and i want to know what is a nice easy swap that i wont have to pay out my ass for i really wanted to put a b16 in my car but it seems very spendy any help would be nice
     
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    a b18a will be the cheapest, b16a 1st gen will be the second, both will take the same amount of work to put in the car
     
  3. quadboy2002

    quadboy2002 fed-town racer

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    washington
    TY

    thank you but i wanna know about the mounts also the hasport mounts are like 500 bucks and from what i understand a zc motor just bolts directly in and i dont have to change very much of the parts my buddy had a zc in his but he got it professionally done and i wanna do the swap on my own
     
  4. Sadistik

    Sadistik New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Location:
    Northern Kentucky
  5. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    yea id rather have a d15b befor a zc but thats just me
     
  6. Vitalspeed_CRX

    Vitalspeed_CRX New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    I have a 93 JDM D15B I think its worth putting in and wont run you alot i picked mine up for about $450.00 shipped the motor alone was $375.00. My mech had to custom my motor mounts cuz I have a crx but I think it should drop right into your HB but not sure cuz the motor is from 92-95 the engine bay might not be the same.
     
  7. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    with a d15b all you will have to change over is the driver side mount
     
  8. ls ef

    ls ef New Member

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Drop in a LS. If you decide to let me know. I have the mounts you need. So if your interested shoot me a pm.
     
  9. quadboy2002

    quadboy2002 fed-town racer

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    washington
    can i put a v tec head on the d15b and if so what do i need to do to make it work
     
  10. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    yes you can but if you buy a jdm d15b its already vtec 130hp i got mine for like 500 bucks to the door
     
  11. Vitalspeed_CRX

    Vitalspeed_CRX New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
  12. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
  13. quadboy2002

    quadboy2002 fed-town racer

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    washington
    hey thanx guys for all the help im gonna go with the d15b i just had a few more questions about it will i need a jumper harness and arent they 92 motors and this is kinda off subject but since i have a 91 is it 4th gen or 5th my buddy keeps tellin me 5th but i keep sayin i think its 4th but ne ways ty for the help
     
  14. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    you have a 4th gen, and yes you will need to convert to obd1 with a jumper harness, and is your car a hf or si or dx
     
  15. quadboy2002

    quadboy2002 fed-town racer

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    washington
    ok seriously i dont get it some one told me earlier i wont need motor mounts but its a 92-95 motor ( d15b vtec ) so it just fits perfect with no changing of the mounts i dont need a mount kit or i do what.... i dun get it
     
  16. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    you dont need a mount kit it will drop right in no problems
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page