1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

swaping to d16z6

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by hb90racer, Nov 26, 2004.

  1. hb90racer

    hb90racer Junior Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Location:
    panama city, Fla
    ok i have a 1990 hatchback i guess std its got a 4 spd and it has the d15b1 pos ok i have a d16z6 i got the whole car or 300bucks everything and anything i need i just need to know what should i do about the wiring harness how and what should i pull and so on and so forth the civic the motor is coming out of has a auto trans any kinda info would great thanks
     
  2. old Skuul Hatch

    old Skuul Hatch Senior Member

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Location:
    Honesdale Pennsylvania / Fort Smith Arkansas
    read swap articles to start off with ;)
     
  3. hb90racer

    hb90racer Junior Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Location:
    panama city, Fla
    i would but i really cant find what i need i dont want to read about swapin a b18 thats not what i got and thats the reason that i asked
     
  4. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Best bet is to find a 90-91 CRX Si or Civic Si Tranny and Axles. Then use your stock harness, distributor get 4 OBD0 injectors adn wire the car for OBD0 which it already is. then buy a vtec conversion harness for OBD-0 to OBD-1 from vtecfrog .com adn run your VTEC wires.
     
  5. projekteg

    projekteg Senior Member

    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004



    if you're telling him to convert to obd1, then no, he can't use his stock distributor and you forgot to tell him to use the p28 ecu for the d16z6 also and the fact that si axles don't fit std hubs so that won't work either ;) basically, if you convert to obd1 which would be the best way so that you could use the appropriate ecu for the engine, you'll need the d16z6, your current tranny and axles will work fine, obd0 to obd1 conversion harness (with subharness), 4 wire o2 sensor, d16z6 distributor and that's about it. as far as the procedure, take the tranny/flywheel/clutch off of your d15 and put it on the new d16, the engine will drop right in, i believe you just have to take the driver side mount off the old engine, and put it on the new engine (that may only be for the jdm d15b, someone correct me if i'm wrong please). then you're going to want to plug up the ecu conversion harness to the ecu plugs and the obd1 p28, then run the subharness wires inside the engine bay for wiring up the 4 wire o2 sensor, distributor and vtec (the wiring info can be found easily with some searching). you'll want to use your obd0 injectors on the obd1, but use the obd1 distributor.
     
  6. darien234

    darien234 Senior Member

    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004

    Yep sound about right to me you will need a resistor box depending upon the injectors you use. I used A SI distrubutor but you have to have it modified to retard the timing. The 4 spd tranny will lag a little from 1st into 2nd because the gears are so long. I say use a 5spd dx or si tranny. I've used all three I like the si better. I only used the 4spd when my 5spd dx went bad. Find some Si spindles and hubs or dx, most of the stuff you need can be found here on hondaswap I have a lot dseries stuff laying around. No need to run vtec right now with no good tranny so its best to find you pm6 (88-91) si ecu use your harness and break the motor in. You can run the engine off a Pr3 or Pwo ecu obd0 vtec ecu I did that also runs alittle rich you ask me but works great. If you build the motor its not that bad but Bseries is better.
     
  7. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Im sorry I forgot a few key points. But, couldnt he run a VAFC to control VTEC, thus keeping the car OBD0.
     
  8. PhyRe

    PhyRe Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    ct

    i dont know bout that. to run obd0 doesnt he have to get a chipped obd0 ecu for vtec? just adding a controller wont make it work will it. it just controls it once its there but doesnt make it apear. but i wouldnt fuck with the obd0 id stick with obd1 cuz thats (to me) the easies to work with
     
  9. Jeef

    Jeef NO MA'AM Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,152
    Likes Received:
    294
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    Save the headaches and just swap in a zc, thats my recommendation. All you will have to do other than switching hubs and axles if you change the transmission is to wire for mpfi and change the ecu. I think that my d16a6 in my crx was much faster than my z6 wired obd0. I also think when I did it in my Civic that my crx si was faster. I just don't like the swap.

    I have done the d16z6 swap twice. You will have to keep the bracket from your drivers side mount and put it on the new engine. I believe you will need a sensor off of the block of your original engine. (Its been a while since I did the swap). You can wire for 0bd0 or obd1. I prefer obd1 because the car runs better with the proper ecu, and you don't have to mickey mouse the distributor on. IF you stay obd0 you will have to modify the distributor.

    Are you just doing the swap for more power or are you doing it because the block is shot? There are some people on Honda-tech who had stds and ran some low 15 second time slips without doing an engine swap. The engine responds well to the mpfi swap, and you will need to change the tranny out for a dx or si one.
     
  10. darien234

    darien234 Senior Member

    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004

    88 -91 Si dizzy will do the trick there are many ways to run vtec but you have to make sure fuel and everything is compensated for when it kicks in. No doubt this swap is easy.
     
  11. Jeef

    Jeef NO MA'AM Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,152
    Likes Received:
    294
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    Yeah the dizzy will fit but you have to modify it to fit. I don't know about you but I would rather have all 3 bolts holding my distributor in that 2 on a hacked one.
     
  12. darien234

    darien234 Senior Member

    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004

    It will hold just find, the distrubutor is spent by the cam, no pressure is apllied it spends freely.
     
  13. Jeef

    Jeef NO MA'AM Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,152
    Likes Received:
    294
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    I had one that still leaked.
     
  14. hb90racer

    hb90racer Junior Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Location:
    panama city, Fla
    ok so let me see if i understand all this ok i need is a p28 ecu, conversion harness (with subharness), where would be a good cheap fast place to get one from and thats it it will all plug up and run just like that ok what if the ecu is for on auto will it still work im so so so close to havin my damm car back :worthy: like i said i dont know if i can use it but i have the whole car still what all can i swap for the harrnes bs cause im a broke joke now
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page