Swappin My 91 CRX

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Luckyax2

Ok I am kinda new to the whole engine swap scene. I used to have a 1997 Acura 3.0 cl and now I have this 1991 CRX. First off I know I wanna go B18, but wich one? with the B18C is all I need the mounting kits? The two engines I am looking at come with the ECU and tranny.
The B18C5 needs the engine mount and OBDII conversion doesnt it? Is this costly? Will I need to relocate my battery?
I can get the B18C5 for 1g more (with LSD) and didnt know if it would cost even more to get it running. Any thoughts?

Definatly go with the b18c, the C5 is such a waste of money. If you want a Type R, just get the GSR (b18c), and buy the Type R cams and Intake Manifold. Then you'll still have money left over to do whatever. The GSR is a lot easier to put in an EF civic also, A lot of people dont realize how much it takes to put in a Type R. So what you need to do, is go with the B18C and hook it up to a b16 tranny. If you use the GSR tranny, then youll have to spend an extra 500 or 600 bucks to buy the hydraulic mount kit. My buddy has a GSR with a b16 tranny in his 93 hatch and he hands just about everyone he races their ass.

Originally posted by ballinhatch@Sep 12 2003, 02:43 PM
Definatly go with the b18c, the C5 is such a waste of money. If you want a Type R, just get the GSR (b18c), and buy the Type R cams and Intake Manifold. Then you'll still have money left over to do whatever. The GSR is a lot easier to put in an EF civic also, A lot of people dont realize how much it takes to put in a Type R. So what you need to do, is go with the B18C and hook it up to a b16 tranny. If you use the GSR tranny, then youll have to spend an extra 500 or 600 bucks to buy the hydraulic mount kit. My buddy has a GSR with a b16 tranny in his 93 hatch and he hands just about everyone he races their ass.