1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

System Idle Process

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by nootrac22, Jan 7, 2009.

  1. nootrac22

    nootrac22 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    4,331
    Likes Received:
    131
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Location:
    exeter pa
    The system Idle process is killing me on my computer. It runs slow as hell because of it. Under the application tab it seems to be using about 80% of the CPU. How do I stop/make this go away?
     
  2. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    The system idle process is like the inverse of the cpu. When it's not executing programming code, it's running the system idle process. It's essential to windows nt. You cannot remove it. Your computer is running slow as hell due to the process using the other 20% of your cpu. Try Process Explorer from Winternals, now under the Microsoft name. Process Explorer This program can give you a very detailed view of what's running in your system, and gives you information so even less computer savvy people can figure it out. If you would load that up and do a screen shot I can tell you if there's BS running that you could live without.
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,582
    Likes Received:
    697
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    nootrac if you right click on it you can kill the process :)
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. nootrac22

    nootrac22 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    4,331
    Likes Received:
    131
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Location:
    exeter pa
    I'll give it a try when I get home. thank you. also i dont know if this makes a diffrence but computer is running xp. seems to happen both at work and home. took me a half hour to turn the computer on and get an email sent this morning.

    it tells me that the application can not be terminated.
     
  5. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Windows XP is built on Windows NT. Windows NT is the underlying foundation for NT 4.0, Windows 2000, XP, and Vista, as well as server versions of those respectably.

    What processor and memory does it have? Maybe it's just in need of a good reinstall. Windows installs can get old and stale and start to degrade after a long while.
     
  6. nootrac22

    nootrac22 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    4,331
    Likes Received:
    131
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Location:
    exeter pa
    install is a little less then 6 month. processor fried (long story and lots of dog hair) new processor and HD since then. I know my ram is an issue as it's only got 512 the processor is an AMD64 3XXX . Hard to find socket 754 anymore. I do plan on putting another stick of ram in it in a few months, when I get a new computer. This current one will go upstairs to hold movies and music and such for the tv.
     
  7. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Right on. Yeah I have a few 754 parts laying around but not enough for a complete system. Even 939 motherboards are getting scarce. Memory is real cheap online at the moment. If you need a good place to buy it lmk, I've got a few good sites.
     
  8. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    every time my shit starts to slow down i open up the task manager and end the processes of everything im not using, it usually helps.
    a lot of times, programs you thought you closed are still running and using up memory..
    and i keep the task manager open at all times down in the toolbar because xp seems to run faster when its open.

    i love reinstalling. lol
     
  9. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    I can literally say I do reinstalls on a daily basis... lol

    And yeah, you cannot kill certain tasks such as the system idle process or lsass.exe or system, for examples.

    Green, do you turn off services and startup apps?

    You can use start>run msconfig. And/or for services, right click my computer manage, services & applications, services. there are guides online such as the one by black viper (google it) if you don't know what to turn off.
     
  10. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,582
    Likes Received:
    697
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    yeah i was just being funny nootrac :)
     
  11. nootrac22

    nootrac22 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    4,331
    Likes Received:
    131
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Location:
    exeter pa
  12. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    The easiest solution is just to get more RAM.
     
    1 person likes this.
  13. nootrac22

    nootrac22 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    4,331
    Likes Received:
    131
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Location:
    exeter pa
    screen cap

    I thought I had gotten rid of a lot of this crap on here.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. nootrac22

    nootrac22 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    4,331
    Likes Received:
    131
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Location:
    exeter pa
    thanks, I think that will be the easiest, but I'm not looking to start buying computer parts till the tax return comes in. guess I'll have to deal with it till then.
     
  15. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Technically that's all fine. You really don't have too much bloat. If you were to change some of the applications you could reduce the overhead though. There's better music sharing applications than orb. AOL software sucks, and winamp can do the ipod stuff. Unless you actually use itunes to purchase songs with. And that version of nero just has lots of processes that you really don't need, but can't do much about. AIM and yahoo could be in the same application. Trillian uses less resources, but just one example.

    More memory would help.
     
  16. nootrac22

    nootrac22 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    4,331
    Likes Received:
    131
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Location:
    exeter pa
    ok, thanks to everyone for there help. Guess I will be posting up my build thread in a few months, and adding some ram to this thing.
     
  17. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    That's a good point, eliminating high resource software in favor of small footprint alternatives can net big performance gains, and not too mention save a TON of space. Nero doesn't do anything that a couple smaller lighter programs can't, but if you have to have Nero there's a Nero micro, and Nero light, that have almost all the functionality but both are sub 75MB programs.
     
  18. nootrac22

    nootrac22 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    4,331
    Likes Received:
    131
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Location:
    exeter pa
    all I use nero for is burning cd/dvds. can someone recomend an alternative?
     
  19. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,582
    Likes Received:
    697
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    most of the time i use roxio creator business and super DVD creator.
     
  20. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Older versions of Nero don't have the extra bloat and don't need processes running in the background at all times. Nero 6 for example is what I use and love. Lite versions work well too.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page