1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

System "virtual memory" low?

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by swanny, Dec 14, 2005.

  1. swanny

    swanny Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,779
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2003
    Location:
    buck teeth and government checks, PA
    Yeah, I just got a notice from my computer saying that my "virtual memory" is low? What files should I dump?
    And yes, I already know I'm retarded. :mrgreen:
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    you should increase your page file....
    but chances are, winsows already did this for you (or at least prompted you for it)
     
  3. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,579
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    ive got 2gb of ram FS in the FS forum :)
     
  4. swanny

    swanny Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,779
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2003
    Location:
    buck teeth and government checks, PA
    Que? Sorry, I've been out of computers since firetoolz. It did pop up with a prompt and I clicked it then nothing happened. Is it basically saying I have too much shit on my computer? What could I delete?
     
  5. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    if you have 128mb of ram,
    and you have 512mb of programs running, windows uses part of your hard drive, known as the page file or swap file, to act as ram for programs in the background.
    usually, this lot on your hd is double the physical ram.... so in this case, you have 128 on the ram chip, and 384 on the hard drive.

    when you have a lot of stuff open, you notice your hard drive acts up-- especially when you switch to a program you haven't used recently (windows puts the active progs on the ram, and the background ones on the hard drive)

    now, say your page file was only set to 256, not 384. Bam, there's you're error, and windows should increase your paging file to accomodate the data.

    nothing is wrong... it just means that your computer is a piece of shit that needs more ram for what you're doing with it :)
     
  6. dveit

    dveit Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    5,361
    Likes Received:
    79
    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    DMV
    smash your PC with a hammer then set it on fire. fixed.
     
  7. Havok

    Havok Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,827
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Florida
    How about you close all of the porn pages, you only need 3-4 open at a time, or 16-18 if you are E_Solsi, not 36.
     
  8. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,036
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    :ph34r:

    you need at least 4 videos running at one time

    the reason for this is that when one of the videos goes to something "undesireable" you can quickly divert attention to another video


    that way your not sitting there trying to work off a batch and all the sudden find yourself punching one out with some guys hairy ass and nutsack on the screen

    nothing can ruin a session quite like a bad sceen
     
  9. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    amsterdam live house, 8 rooms at once :p

    lol

    that was the best when i cought the bitch on the shitter :p
     
  10. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,036
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page