1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

T-tap for heater hose

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by eg6sir, May 5, 2006.

  1. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    ok.. i got my water temp gauge today.. i got it mounted and everything.. i'll take pics of my ghetto ass job i did tomorrow.. i'm just wondering where i can find a t-tap for my heater hose... so i can put the sender there..
     
  2. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    You're putting the metal sender inside a plastic T tap?
    [​IMG]

    Autozone sells them by the gas caps.
     
  3. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    i'm not really sure how to hook this thing up.. [​IMG] the guy who i bought it from suggested that..
     
  4. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    any other ideas of what i could do??
     
  5. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    Meh, if the stock sender won't work, i don't blame you for not wanting to tap the head.
    Get a different gauge and sell that one maybe?
    My Faze gauge works on the stock single pin sender just fine?
    I wouldn't be putting it into a T tap though.. lol
     
  6. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    you're looking for a tap? or just a splitter?

    i would recommned going and looking through home depot or any other hardware store...
    you have quite a few choices...
    you can put a t off the block where any of the stock temp sensors are, then your stock one still works and you can T off for your new sensor...

    thats what i would recommend you look into...
    you could prob also use a T on any of the smaller coolant lines going to or from the IAC... this might be a good option depending on what fittings you can find
     
  7. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    what diameter should it be?? i'll take the sender with me and check the threads.. but what about the hose diameter
    i'm just looking for the cheapest way to do this before sat nite..
     
  8. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    come to think of it.. i dont even know which one is the heater hose..
     
  9. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    someone help please.. i want to do it the easy way.. its just one blue
    wire that goes to the sender.. should i just splice it into the stock sender??
     
  10. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI
    only if the temp sender for the guage you are installing has the same resistance as the stock sender. Just t it off.

    A little more bling than you are probably looking for, but an idea nonetheless.
    [​IMG]

    Try looking on Aeroquip's site too, they might have what you are looking for.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page