Take me to Honda school -

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Vermin

Hey guys - I'm a Honda drivetrain newbie and have a lot of questions I'm hoping you can help me with. I plan on using a Honda engine/trans to power a full tube rock buggy. I've done enough googling to make me sick for one night, and the extent of my knowledge is about what you can read in wikipedia :D I'll break down my questions for ya'll and hopefully you can put things in perspective for me..

1. I've heard/read that pre-2000 Civic/Integra engines are what I'm after because they run the 'correct' direction for my rear engine application. Can someone break down for me if that includes 2000 model years - and sort me out a list of which engines are encompassed in this group? I know the D16 has been used in this application before - but that is about it.

2. Of the engines listed in the answer to #1 - which are the easiest to stand-alone wire? Are the VTEC engines any more tricky to deal with?

3. What are the different types of fuel injection available on these engines - and what types are the most desireable? I do plan on turbocharging it down the road - so fuel system flexibility will play into my decision.