1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tdc

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by crxhfz6, Jun 5, 2011.

  1. crxhfz6

    crxhfz6 Member

    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Location:
    Manhattan, KS
    i have an obd1 crx that was throwing a code for the TDC and CYP. a couple days ago i was givin a lightly used distributor(5k miles). i ended up putting the coil and control module from mine into the new one. started right up and didnt throw a code. went for a drive and went well until i hit around 6k. then the tach went crazy and i got a code for the TDC. i turned the car off then back on and it went away and drove fine. I believe all of the wiring is good. would it make sense for the sensor to be bad, or is there a problem in the wirin?
     
  2. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    crazy tach=bad ICM. Bad wiring would cause consistent problems, while ICM would cause problems at certain rpm, when warm, etc..
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2011
  3. crxhfz6

    crxhfz6 Member

    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Location:
    Manhattan, KS
    alright. ill switch it out with the other one that i have and see what it does
     
  4. crxhfz6

    crxhfz6 Member

    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Location:
    Manhattan, KS
    well i tried the old ICM as well as a new one i picked up and it was actually worse. the new one would cut out and miss above 4k and the tach just bounced
     
  5. crxhfz6

    crxhfz6 Member

    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Location:
    Manhattan, KS
    so after getting the wrong part a few times i ended up getting a remaned dizzy for an 95 gsr. starts and drives fine, but once i hit 3.5k it throws the tdc code. i turn the car off and back on and its fine once again till 3.5k. i already ordered another to test but i was also told that there is a difference signal wise between the b16 and gsr. So do you guys think that the sensor is just bad in the one i got?
     
  6. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Was the car rewired or anything? It would be odd that a reman distributor is causing problems but I wouldn't be surprised. I never heard of GSR and B16s having different TDC "signals"(not even sure what they mean by that).

    Have you tried swapping ECU?
     
  7. crxhfz6

    crxhfz6 Member

    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Location:
    Manhattan, KS
    still the same ecu, i know some of the wiring has been cut into and ill have to check it. although the last dizzy only threw a code when hitting vtec. when this one shows one at 3.5 every time. makes me think that it isnt the wiring.
     
  8. massdamage

    massdamage New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    civic tdc err

    I have a similar problem with my 1990 civic. I was driveing and my rotor button cam off and stalled the car out I replaced the button and cap and it is throwing code 8 tdc problem .As long as I get the car moveing b4 the engine light comes on I can tack the car out to the max but when I go to slow down or stop the engine light comes on and I cant get no more than 3500rpm out of the car. I can restart the car and it is fine till I slow down or stop agine so does that mean I need a new distributor? sorry for asking my own question on your post but wont let me make my on post yet for some reason.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page