1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Temperature Sensor

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by Magik, Jan 9, 2004.

  1. Magik

    Magik Senior Member

    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Location:
    Moncton, New Brunswick CANADA
    I had a diagnostic test done yesterday and one of the things they told me I needed was the temperature sensor that controls my "fan", as the fan behind the rad is running constantly. Problem is I don't have a freakin' clue where that is? Is that actually what it is called...just the temperature sensor or is there another name for it?

    Thanks for the help...

    Jason
     
  2. NoJokE

    NoJokE Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    The Coolant temperature sensor is somewhere by the thermostat housing, if you know where the thermostat is, it should be around there.
     
  3. Magik

    Magik Senior Member

    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Location:
    Moncton, New Brunswick CANADA
    I was also told that there are two of them...A "switch" (the one u describe) and a "sending unit"...which one do I need...one is $50...one is $20. :unsure:

    Jason
     
  4. NoJokE

    NoJokE Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Well the sending unit is by the thermostat housing, the switch is on the fan. Which one doesnt work? I would guess the sending unit is busted because if its fucked, there might be a backup type system that turns the switch on to compensate for it being fucked up. But that last sentence is just out of my ass, cuz if the switch was broken it wouldnt turn on, soooo i would guess sending unit.
     
  5. Magik

    Magik Senior Member

    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Location:
    Moncton, New Brunswick CANADA
    Would both of these parts off of the D15B2 that I just pulled work/fit on the B1 that is in there now?

    Thanks

    Jason
     
  6. cws13

    cws13 Senior Member

    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Location:
    Athens,GA

    The temp sending unit is on the head just below the dist. (1 wire) to run the gauge, the thermo sensor is ON the thermo housing, two wires, 22mm wrench if memory serves and little torque- just snug. What's a B1?
     
  7. Magik

    Magik Senior Member

    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Location:
    Moncton, New Brunswick CANADA

    D15B1 is the engine code...thanks for the input. :)

    Jason
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page