1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The newest Craze -

Discussion in 'Members' Lounge' started by jamesA, Nov 17, 2006.

  1. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,118
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Vonage.

    If you're a business and you want these fucking things hooked up coming off of single line telephones. DON'T. CALL. ME.

    I hate hooking those fucking things up. I wasted two hours of my life today trying to figure out why I wasn't getting any dialtone from this company's second vonage box.

    Turns out... there was no dialtone. Probably should have been the first thing I checked, but wtf... all the other 10 boxes I've hooked up worked perfectly, including the one I did that morning.

    All I should have had to do was run a phone line with two simple RJ11 plugs on it from the back of the router to the phone jack, and then snip the wires coming from the Verizon Dmarc.

    That completed... and still nothing.

    [/work rant]

    Now if you have a digital phone system and your network is in the same room... not a problem!!! 10 minutes, 2 six foot cat5 cables, 4 RJ11 plugs later, I'm done!

    I wish they could all be that easy.



    disclaimer: if i misspelled anything, shutup. I'm not wearing my glasses. :)
     
  2. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI
    Lol. I don't get how Vonage works...What makes it different from any normal landline? I know it's broadband, but honestly, what are the advantages?
     
  3. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,118
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    cheaper cost, better sound quality. If you're on verizon and you've ever heard popping/crackling/low dB levels on the land line, it's simply because water got into the copper somewhere.

    Coming through the internet, cable has a lot less chance of having that happen.
     
  4. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    vonage sucks.

    my parents have it, and so does my boss. wicked suckfest if one of them is sucking up the bandwidth.
     
  5. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    I had Vonage for 3 months sucked balls.

    If you have a Broadband Cable modem connection and only use it for Vonage I'm sure it works fine, But as soon as you do something like actually browse a web site, or d/l a torrent you can hear a clicking on the line, and sound quality goes to shit, not to mention a lovely echo on the line
     
  6. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
  7. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    "It's cheap as free!"

    Skype rocks my socks.
     
  8. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI
  9. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    instant messenger that incorporates voice chat and IP telephony.
     
  10. Celerity

    Celerity Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    21,969
    Likes Received:
    146
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Skype: The reliability of modern day instant messenger chat clients with the sound quality of 1910 country lines.

    Sign me up ! It's free, and that's overpriced.
     
  11. DarkHand

    DarkHand Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    241
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago, IL


    Vonage routers use QoS to prioritize the phone conversations, you should never have a call start to drop out if you're using the internet at the same time. Something isn't configured correctly if you're having trouble, or you plain don't get enough upstream bandwidth from your ISP.
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2006
  12. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    My router was fucking up everytime QoS is enabled(Linksys RTP300 provided by them). They told me to disable QoS, worked fine..but shit kept going out.
     
  13. jeffie7

    jeffie7 Wrong Whole! VIP

    Messages:
    12,928
    Likes Received:
    730
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Maryland
    My parents and borth my brothers have Vonage. They really like it.
    It's great if you're always moving around the world, one brother is in asia right now and the other is in europe.

    If you're doing nothing more then living a normal America life I see no point in it.

    My cell phone > all =)
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page