1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

this is my swap

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by SgregVanliewC, Apr 15, 2007.

  1. SgregVanliewC

    SgregVanliewC New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    hey guys, this is the swap i have...i have EVERYthing from this integra except the hubs sooo my ? is besides mounts and some minor wire converting (cus i plan on putting that dash in my car) what else do i need? some people are saying i need civic 5 speed pedals, some are saying the teg ones will work, some say axles...others dont.....lol i guess u kinda understand my situation because im sure everyone was in my shoes at one point or another. o yeah im using a whole mount kit from enjo racing...because they seem to have the most for the price. thanks alot guys for whatever info you can help me out with
     

    Attached Files:

  2. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    You will need teh axles with the swap. It appears that swap is a 94-95? If so, you're going to run into obd issues.
     
  3. SgregVanliewC

    SgregVanliewC New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    i have the axles from the teg and from my civic.....and if i used the WHOLE harness from the teg it would stil give me issues with OBD....i planned on going to OBD1 anyway? what will i need to do to elminate these obd issues? jumper? reflash? idk. i seriously have the whole wiring harness....even the floor harness,. and im gonna be using that dash if i can get it to fit.....soooo yeah thanks soo far for the help vtecin5th, and other more specific ones?
     
  4. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    If you plan to go OBD1, you're going to need to use the Civic harness, cut and paste the plugs so they fit on/work with the obd1 components, and an obd2 to obd1 jumper. (and obviously the obd1 p75)

    [ I have never done the cut+paste method for this same setup/situation so I can't suggest how you should wire the alternator and distributor. I'd suggest using obd2 components for easier installation, but it's your call ]

    You will not need your civic axles at all, use them as cores @ Autozone.
    (Pay full price and bring the axles in a week later one at a time so they don't compare it to the original and you'll get your $ for core return :ph34r:)
     
  5. SgregVanliewC

    SgregVanliewC New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    i cant just use the integra harness, dash and ecu....and kind of just replace the wirring in my car? thats what my friend did with his EF
     
  6. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    96-2000 Civic's will not let you do that. The EK wiring works with one piece. The harness goes inside the passenger side and connects directly to the ECU.
    Integras and pre 96 civic's use (plugs at the) 'shock towers' where the harness "breaks off" inside the engine bay. 96-00 civic's don't do this.

    If I were in your position, I would use the civic harness and find obd2 (96+) injectors, distributor and alternator. I'm not saying you can't go obd1, because you can, but it's going to be a headache and to me not worth the trouble.
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2007
  7. SgregVanliewC

    SgregVanliewC New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    i must be retarted or something cus i just dont understand that....if i dont use ANY of the ek wirring why would it matter what the old harness mounted to? i can just run it through the way it did on the teg....and just make new mounting pieces for it
     
  8. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    I'll draw a diagram...
     

    Attached Files:

    • ok.JPG
      ok.JPG
      File size:
      51.4 KB
      Views:
      95
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2007
  9. SgregVanliewC

    SgregVanliewC New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    lol thanks now it kinda makes sense
     
  10. klyph

    klyph Dismember VIP

    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    North Pole, AK
    I believe what you are referring to as shock towers are actually the bulkhead plugs. The shock towers are the part of the uni-body that the suspension strut top bolts to (near the bulkhead plugs). By the way, nice diagram :D
     
  11. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    Ye ye, but they're AT the shock towers, lol. I was trying to get my point across.
    What would you do in his situation klyph?
     
  12. klyph

    klyph Dismember VIP

    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    North Pole, AK
    :buyanm:

    JK, This guy is obviously on a budget, looking to get this done with the stuff he already has. Thus buying OBD2 components is not the route I would take. I'd say use the connectors off of the Integra Chassis harness to splice into your civic harness, get the jumper and make it OBD1. If you have a minimal amount of automotive electrical know how you can do the conversion. Or if you are intimidated by wiring and would rather shell out the cash contact Rywire - Online Store you can send them your harnesses and they'll swap everthing, sell you a jumper and probably an ECU to match.
     
  13. SgregVanliewC

    SgregVanliewC New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    aside from the lights....i dont see why i would have to splice much shit.......im using the itegra dash and harness in my car....that will plug right into the itnegra engine harness, the engine harness will go right into the teg ECU, and the teg floor harness will plug right into all that
     
  14. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    I think you won't understand until after you do all that and it doesn't work. lol
     
  15. klyph

    klyph Dismember VIP

    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    North Pole, AK
    :werd:
    Swapping the entire harness from one car to another sounds easy, but unless you have an understanding of how every circuit functions, you'll drive yourself crazy. I'm in the middle of it right now.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page