1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

timing adjustment ?'s

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by mikey bottles, Feb 23, 2007.

  1. mikey bottles

    mikey bottles Prof. Bottles

    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Location:
    S. Jersey
    ive searched around on here but havnt exactly found the answers im looking for. just swapped a b16a into my 88 crx si. i replaced the timing belt.. set everything to TDC (which according to some posts ive found on here is the single notch seperated from the rest on the crank pulley). turned the car on and the idle shot up to about 2k and stayed there. check engine light is coming on with a TPS code... i tried adjusting the idle with the set screw but that didnt do a whole lot of good. i dont have a vacuum leak, but im not sure which solenoid on the firewall needs to be removed... and i have the vacuum hoses hooked up to the MAP sensor and the Canister Purge solenoid. i also noticed the distributor is adjusted all the way back toward the firewall.. is that advanced or retarded? so pretty much what i need to know is do i have my vacuum lines hooked up to the right solenoid?, and if i adjust the distributor toward the front of the car will i be retarding or advancing the timing?
     
  2. mikey bottles

    mikey bottles Prof. Bottles

    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Location:
    S. Jersey
    i found the TPS on ebay for like $30+ shipping so when i get paid im gonna grab that, but in the meantime im gonna try adjusting the distributor a little bit to see if it helps, fully advanced sounds a little extreme to me.
     
  3. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    just because your throwing the tps code doesnt mean its bad. Its prolly disconnected of just needs to be adjusted. check the voltage on it and see what its reading. i found a website where it shows you how to set the tps. i'll post it once i find it.

    Or you could yank another off a junkeryard honda.:ph34r:
     
  4. mikey bottles

    mikey bottles Prof. Bottles

    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Location:
    S. Jersey
  5. ThatGuy4life

    ThatGuy4life The Riced Sleeper

    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    ha, I see my post came in handy for someone already
     
  6. mikey bottles

    mikey bottles Prof. Bottles

    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Location:
    S. Jersey
    alright.. i adjusted the TPS and it brough down the idle, but it still idles high when you first start it up, still throws a code for TPS and now surges a bit when the idle gets down to around 800-1000rpm.
     
  7. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    i agree with blanco. check you EACV. Once checked i guess swap the tps.
     
  8. mikey bottles

    mikey bottles Prof. Bottles

    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Location:
    S. Jersey
    didnt know whether to just post a new thread or post on here... but anyway, when i went to reset the TPS no matter how much i moved it, my volt meter consistently reads .03v, does the mean the TPS is dead?
     
  9. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    did you swap the tps already ? If so you problaby put it in wrong. the tps has a little spring inside. you have to hook up the spring to a 'hook' in the throttle body first. this is don by putting the tps on at a angle,hooking it and then turning the tps to the correct position. That way as soon as you turn the tps the ecu reads in voltage how much you turning.

    Ohh and you have to have the key on.

    other than that yeah the tps is shot.:ph34r:
     
  10. mikey bottles

    mikey bottles Prof. Bottles

    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Location:
    S. Jersey
    no its still the same TPS that was in there.. i just havnt had much time to mess with it, but thanks for the info, ill prolly grab one off of ebay this week when i get paid.
     
  11. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    or just get one from the junker. cheaper with 5 finger discount:ph34r:
     
  12. mikey bottles

    mikey bottles Prof. Bottles

    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Location:
    S. Jersey
    i shoulda tested this before but i figured it just needed to be reset bc the person i bought it off of didnt know how to set it , but i went out today and decided to check the 5v constant that goes to the tps and it read .03v, do you know of anything else in the car that is a 5v constant that i can piggy back off of?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page