1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Timing Belt

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by jeppreyboy, May 27, 2003.

  1. jeppreyboy

    jeppreyboy Junior Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Anyone know the best way to get the timing belt on. I took the old one off and cant seem to get the new one on. I loosened the adjusting bolt, but i cant get the belt on. I almost got it on and had to pull on the belt real hard, but it just wont slip on. Any suggestions?
     
  2. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    loosen the tensioner then push it back to it's loosest postion then retighten it, so you aren't fighting it at all.

    then make absolutely sure everything is at TDC.

    only put it on half way all around then push it a little at a time
     
  3. jeppreyboy

    jeppreyboy Junior Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    When i put the cam gears at TDC, do I have to do anything with the crank pulley? Do i need to turn it to a certain point before i put the t-belt on?
     
  4. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,036
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    ummmm yeah

    set that at TDC too
    unless you want to destroy your engine :)
     
  5. machine

    machine Banned

    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Location:
    houston tx

    interference is a bitch ain't it? <_<
     
  6. jeppreyboy

    jeppreyboy Junior Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    WOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOO... got the t-belt on..after three weeks of my car being down...its finally runn'n again. Thank god for the online manuals.
     
  7. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    probably have some bent valves for bolting the cams down before you put everything to TDC
     
  8. where eagles dare

    where eagles dare Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    ok, i've got a question. if you were off by 1 tooth on the cam sprocket, would your valves collide??? i think i lined my cam gear up w/ the wrong marks on my d16z6 (flush against the head surface instead of w/ the plastic pointer arrow) but i still can't figure out where to put it. my shitty manual doesn't specify... i need a helms
    anyway, would being off by a very little cause it to interfere, or just run really shity. when i fired it up, i turn it off right away when things weren't right. but i didn't hear any clicking

    sorry to hijack the thread but I need an answer from someone

    thanks
     
  9. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    no i doubt that one tooth would bend valves, although it could happen...
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page