1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

timing belt

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by INJEN78, Nov 21, 2008.

  1. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    i cant get my timing to stay right,
    set te cams to te correct spot,set the crank pulley to TDC,using the one tick mark all by itself,lining it to te mark on the belt cover,now when i crank the motor over it jumps a tooth,what could be the problem??
    am i missing a step or something?
    also trowing a code 8(TDC sensor),and the motor will not start
     
  2. sleeper88

    sleeper88 My mom thinks i'm cool

    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Location:
    Parkesburg, pa
    tensioner could be bad/ or not tighten? belt could be stretched?
     
  3. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    brand new belt,tensioner is working fine though
     
  4. mikey bottles

    mikey bottles Prof. Bottles

    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Location:
    S. Jersey
    what motor is this on? if its a dual cam.. it may not be jumping a belt.. dual cams have a lot of length between the exhaust cam and the crank... and when you release the tensioner it doesnt take up that slack... only when you move the crank will it tighten up.. and that will offset the timing... what i did on mine was roll both cam sprockets forward about 1 tooth, line the crank pulley up with the timing cover, then slip the belt on the exhaust cam - intake cam - water pump - tensioner... then i roll the cam sprockets back to where the marks are even with the head, making sure the crank doesnt move.. then release the tensioner to take up the slack on the other side of the belt.. works everytime for me.. may not need to go a whole tooth forward.. kind of trial and error.. but again.. this is for dual cam.. never had this problem on any of the single cams ive worked on. are you rotating the crank 3 complete times with the tensioner released and rechecking the timing before you're trying to turn the engine over?
     
  5. Matts96HB

    Matts96HB . Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    6,483
    Likes Received:
    390
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Fail! I told you how to do this in my thread bro, set the timing, leave the tensioner loose. Grab the crank pulley and rotate the engine Counterclockwise about 3 deg. then tighten it up. Thats why you are having this problem..
     
  6. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    yea im gonna try that again,,ive done it 2-3 times already
     
  7. Matts96HB

    Matts96HB . Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    6,483
    Likes Received:
    390
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Really? Hmm. Make sure that tensioner is TIGHT, and I MEAN TIGHT..

    they are a c*nt to get off, but thats the way they should be. Also make sure there's no slack on the front of the belt
     
  8. f22b1 coupe

    f22b1 coupe Junior Member

    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Location:
    Indiana
    I'm assuming it's the right belt, but I did get a belt from auto zone one time that was totally the wrong belt. I had problems getting it on the D16Y8 I was working on, and finally I got online and checked the part number I had vs the one online, and bingo. It was like 22422 and he pulled 22442 or something like that. Anyway, it's always worth double checking the part number just in case it was someone's first day in the parts department. An extra tooth on that belt would f your world up on getting timing set.
     
  9. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    ok redid the timing,did everything you said.the camgears are fine,but the crank pulley is off just a little bit(is that fine?)
    and im throwing code 8(TDC sensor) is that in the dizzy?
     
  10. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
  11. Andrew

    Andrew Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,685
    Likes Received:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL
    my buddy had a similar issue with it skipping a tooth just while we were trying to turn the motor on the stand after building it.

    Turned out to be one of the cams( I think in his case it was the Intake) was 'seizing.' we used different cams and it worked great. I guess the one that was seizing just had a bit too little clearance for the bearing-surfaces.

    Whats leading me away from this scenario, however, is that you're using the same cams that were previously in it, right?

    I'd recommend pulling the belt off and putting a strap wrench on the a cams and see if you can spin them both. if not......
     
  12. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    i can spin the cams with my hand,,its hard but i can do it,
    i think i got the timing issue solved,now i think i need a dizzy
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page