To build or not to build

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

khoda

Allright so i am new to the site but not to hondas. Unfortunitly i am new to b-series. I have only built single d's and one dual d and one sw20 so bear with me.

i just aquired a b18a1 ls block from a 91. got it with low compression most likely shot rings so i am going to do a full rebuild on it.

but i want to know what everyones thoughts are on building the ls as is or go ls-v with it..i know this is a non-vtec site but im sure most of you have had experiences with both.

also how reliable is the bottom end what pistons/rod combo ect... would you guys/girls recomend. im not going to touch the head until i decide on which route i want to take. this is going in my 91 crx hf and the motor in it is fine so i am not on any deadline i am going to take this slowly for reliability. my goals are 250-270whp. nothing to outrageous.

so any input on what you would do and what parts.

thanks
stuart

sorry i posted this on nonvtec.com as well (copy/paste)

i have heard that the pistoons are the weak point? but in anycase i am definitly replacing the rod bolts/headbolts ect.. with arp. but lets say i want room to grow what piston combo would go well with the tt h beams ( love those rods)

not really on the whole "VTAk" bandwagon so i might as well stay. Now with that being said the head sucks from what i hear, so a good p/p and vj along with a whole valve train change is in order too..

werd. if youre going to be driving this everyday, go VTEC. It evens out your idle and helps with fuel economy, but still allows you to have high end power.

If you are planning on driving this every day, with a 250whp goal, youre definitely gonna want to go the VTEC route.

Outside of a stroker kit this may be difficult to pull off.

If i had your goals, and i wanted to stay N/A id probably do this:

BrianCrower.com (1.96L stroker kit with 11:1 pistons)
B16 Head, Ported for N/A