To paint or not to paint?

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

kriz

So now that summertime's rolled around and I'm not broke as hell (just mildly broke) I can finally get back to working on my car. I've decided to put my plans for rims and sound system on hold to fix up the car as it is now before I add anything else to it.

My car is fairly old and at this point it has a good amount of scratches and stuff which, the car being a very reflective shade of black, are quite noticeable and just ruin the looks of it. What I'm wondering is if it would be worth repainting, and how much should I be expecting to pay for a paint job thats at least as good as the stock paint (I've been told paint jobs from places like Maaco can run $300 but they are horrible in quality) or if it may be a better idea to just get the car properly waxed to at least get rid of the majority of the scratches. Any help/guidance is much appreciated.

Keep in mind I'm a noob with no ability or capability to paint the car on my own. ;)

Dude 300 dollar paint job for a whole car sounds like shit work to me... Don't get me wrong tho if someone said they would paint my car for 300 bucks I'd have to consider it. But I would check out some of their other $300 work before making a decision.

Right thats what I'm thinking... Its just I don't know anyone that has had a paintjob done at maaco to see how it looks and I doubt they would show me a real one if it was shitty work.

My buddy had his car done by them. They dont paint door jams and shit, there work isnt bad. They do a great job for 300

Dude actually, now that I'm thinking about it, the place I bought my car at did a full paint job on an accord around the time I was up there... I'll ask them how much they charged.