1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Torque specs

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by MazdaAspec, Apr 30, 2009.

  1. MazdaAspec

    MazdaAspec /\ IDIOT ALERT /\

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    North Dakota
    I am unable to find a Hanes book around this stupid town to tell me specs for the bolts. I am just looking for the valve cover torque spec for a B16a head. I put a new gasket on, should I just clean it all up and put it on or do I need to add anything befor i put it on???
     
  2. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    7.2 ft-lbs (86in-lbs)
     
  3. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    You can use gasket sealer if you want, but I always just clean it up good around the edges and put it on. I also would recommend turning the motor on and running your hands around the edges of the valve cover (don't actually touch it though) to see if you can feel any air or oil squirting out anywhere. Sometimes the gasket can slip out a bit as you're setting the cover down back onto the head and leave gaps...
     
  4. phyregod

    phyregod !!YTINASNI

    Messages:
    9,449
    Likes Received:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Put a small dab of sealant in the corners by the cams. Other than that, clean everything up really well and DONT over torque it. Life should be good.
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. MazdaAspec

    MazdaAspec /\ IDIOT ALERT /\

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    North Dakota
    thanks guys. ALSO>>> I had another thing posted that said massive problems, well i still have problems. EG6SIR will laugh at this. That part was still the incorrect part for that oil seal. I actually ordered that one as well about 3 day ago. So should I just find one with the same dimensions and just put it in hoping for the best???
     
  6. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    still the wrong part?? wow.. how many can there possibly be.. since you're a cable tranny that may be why..
     
  7. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    alright Mazda .. sorry bout that..

    try this part #.. its for a 92 GSR w/ a cable tranny, not hydro
    91260-SK7-013
     
  8. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
  9. MazdaAspec

    MazdaAspec /\ IDIOT ALERT /\

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    North Dakota
    ooo its cool this part is kicking me square in the nutz and i liked it at first but now it is hard to breathe. I am thinking it will be looking different then the one that came out just because this is a JDM tranny and here in this place called America we make things different. So I might buy this part just to see if it fits and then go from there. The only things it has to do is hold the oil back and to let the shaft spin around and circles. RIGHT??
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page