1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Towing my Rex adds miles to odometer

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by therobesons, Nov 23, 2006.

  1. therobesons

    therobesons New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Location:
    Veneta
    I tow my CRX behind a motorhome.
    When I do, it racks up the miles on the Odometer.
    Is there a fix so it will show the miles when I drive but NOT when I tow?
    I fuse to pull or a switch I can install or ????
    TIA
    Bob
     
  2. MXDesa

    MXDesa Senior Member

    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Location:
    Queens, New York
    Unplug the speedometer sensor on the top of the tranny when you tow. Thats a really easy fix.
     
  3. Andrew

    Andrew Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,685
    Likes Received:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL
    Sounds like the right thing to do to me
     
  4. mad_hatter

    mad_hatter Its Da Mad Hatter

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    fredericksburg, falmouth area
    you can find out how many miles about you towed it pull the guage cluster and turn the miles back with drill in the speedo connector
     
  5. Cashizslick

    Cashizslick !i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!

    Messages:
    5,751
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Anymore info on this procedure??
     
  6. turbo sol

    turbo sol I need some ligaments!!!

    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Location:
    laurel, montucky (ten minutes out of billings)
    pull the cluster.
     
  7. mad_hatter

    mad_hatter Its Da Mad Hatter

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    fredericksburg, falmouth area
    yeah pull the guages out and there be two harness plugs and the speedo cable just unclip it and there it is
     
  8. MXDesa

    MXDesa Senior Member

    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Location:
    Queens, New York

    You cant turn miles backwards. Do not give false information. If you do not know then dont post.
     
  9. mad_hatter

    mad_hatter Its Da Mad Hatter

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    fredericksburg, falmouth area
    ok well if its false information you can explain to me how i did it three days ago i had my cluster off and i was running a new cable for it and i just started messing with it since i dont know how many miles are on my swap anyways i stuck a bit in there and ran the drill if you go foward it works as if the car was driving at 40mph i reverse it and the speedo drops and the miles go down at 40 miles an hour so how is that false information i mean if its not supposed to do that and mine is screwed up i dunno but def. worked for me.....why would i waste time giving false info anyway if you want ill set up my camera and even give you a little how to clip of it in action
     
  10. Andrew

    Andrew Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,685
    Likes Received:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL
    There was a thread on H-T with detailed pics on how to do it.
    I'm searching around, but can't seem to find it. It's possibly on here
     
  11. mad_hatter

    mad_hatter Its Da Mad Hatter

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    fredericksburg, falmouth area
    it may be a clip or something that needs to be removed to do it but i was just messing around since it was out and it infact worked its just slow cause the drill only reads at 40mph so 160,000, takes a long time i put a hose clamp on my drill and let it run but the battery gets slow to fast
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page