1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

tps/idle

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by luispequeno, Mar 26, 2009.

  1. luispequeno

    luispequeno New Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Houston area
    i have a 00 civic si, with a jdm b16 just re-done from the bottom end up. i put it all together and i'd say i'm a "alright" mechanic or parts changer, to not be tootin' my own horn.

    anyway... my idle is terrible. it usually idles around 2k rpm, so i losen the throtle cable & it wont idle at the old 1000rpm. so i cleaned out the throttle body, thinking maybe my butterfly was stuck or something, no luck. i dont think my distributor is perfect, but i've fiddled with that and ended up leaving that in the middle.

    so i have a pretty bad idle issue. any ideas?

    also, i disconnect my tps & it wont chuckle or anything. does this sound like a tps issue? its $562 at honda, i'd hate to spend that...
     
  2. eg'sforlife

    eg'sforlife New Member

    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Location:
    29 stumps, CA
    well your throttle plate normally isnt open at idle so i doubt its the tps check your IAC
     
  3. Slow&Delirious

    Slow&Delirious isn't fast or furious

    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Boonville NC
    sounds more like an IAC issue, but you can backprobe the signal wire to the TPS and if the voltage seems too high replace it. Have you tried bleeding the coolant or checked for vac leaks?
     
  4. luispequeno

    luispequeno New Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Houston area
    no i haven't, how would i bleed the coolant? EM's dont have bolts to open it at, does it?
     
  5. luispequeno

    luispequeno New Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Houston area
    also, i had a vaccum leak, but i think i've fixed all of em for good. any good quick way to diagnose that?
     
  6. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Blow smoke at your intake
     
  7. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    whats that suppose to do?


    a tps shouldnt be $562. but if it was the tps, you should have a code stored.
     
  8. luispequeno

    luispequeno New Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Houston area
    yeah i dont think its the tps. i think its related to having an air pocket in my water lines. i have that bad idle and its sending most of the fluid back to my resevoir. i just need to know how to bleed the coolant.

    anyone know where i can find the cd for my kar?
     
  9. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Blowing smoke at the intake area can show you where vac leaks are. The tps costs that much forsay; the throttle body costs that much. You can only get a tps from honda with the attached throttle body.

    The cd? Huh? Manual?

    The bleed screw is on the thermostat housing on the left of your engine right under the distributor. Best of luck
     
  10. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    i know they come with the throttle bodies. but you can buy a tps by itself off ebay for like $30.
    and im gonna try that smoke thing. thats a helluva lot better than spraying carb cleaner on it. ive been suspecting vacuum leaks for a while.
     
  11. Slow&Delirious

    Slow&Delirious isn't fast or furious

    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Boonville NC
    i have always just took tha radiator cap off and just let it idle for about 15 min and keeping it topped off, when i bleed my coolant
     
  12. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    its a lot easier when you have a little spout that just lets all the air out for you.
    a lot quicker too. takes about 2 seconds.
     
  13. luispequeno

    luispequeno New Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Houston area
    so should i just leave a hose loose until i see it get there? i would want to do that to the top hose, huh?

    i meant "a cd for my kar" as in the cd manual thing.

    i think i can manage the job now, i just need to get back to my side of town and work on it... been at mah b0ys working on his EVO viii for a while now...
     
  14. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    fuckin ricers.

    and no, dont take your hose off. that will just dump all the coolant out. duh.
    just loosen the bolt that looks like it has a nipple on the end of it on the thermostat housing that the upper radiator hose is attached to. some air should come out.
     
  15. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    yess, do it properly and use the bleeder screw. Any other way and your not generating enough pressure to properly move coolant (and air) thru the passages. It needs just a small hole for the air pressure to escape thru.

    Blowing smoke at it is meh. Never actually had success, but the smoke I'm blowin at it makes the job more fun hahaa. The concept is sound, so I'd guess that method should work.
     
  16. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    would the smoke bypassing the filter like that fuck anything up?
     
  17. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    lol i'd say it really depends on the smoke, but more or less, deffinatly not. the particles of smoke are so small, the only thing you could expect it to do is tar up the inerds, and that seems unlikely with the heat generated and small amount of smoke that's going to enter.
     
  18. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    cigarette smoke.
    lol
    i didnt think so, but cars are so sensitive sometimes.
     
  19. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    lol, MthaFuknGREEN smoke... over here :D
     
  20. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    i chiiiill when i smoke mthafukngreen.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page