1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

tranny help

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by quadboy2002, Aug 17, 2007.

  1. quadboy2002

    quadboy2002 fed-town racer

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    washington
    i was looking at getting the zc motor cause my motor is shot i have the stock civic motor in there and i wanna know if i were to buy a d15b can i use my stock tranny cause right now i cant afford to buy the zc and tranny any help would be great thanx
     
  2. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    yes you can use your stock transmission with the D15B - you can't use the ZC transmission with the D15B as the block has no place to bolt the ZC intermediate shaft to - to use the ZC transmission you would need to swap out the differential carrier for one from an Si or get special axles made with the larger Integra inner CV joints - you would be better off spending the extra $100 or so to get the DOHC ZC engine without the ZC transmission - the DOHC ZC will run much better than a D15B
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2007
  3. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    the ZC transmission uses an intermediate shaft which bolts to the back of the block - the D15 block doesn't have any place to bolt it on - the D16A6 block has the holes but on most of them the holes need to be tapped in order to get the bolts in - ZC block on left - D15 block on right
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 17, 2007
  4. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    yeah, get a Z6 for the extra torque - a D15B is still a D15
     
  5. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    just remember that in order to run the D15B VTEC correctly, you will need to convert to OBD1 which means buying an OBD0 to OBD1 conversion harness and OBD1 ECU - pretty soon you have more money in it than in a DOHC ZC
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page