tryin to decide on the right project...1995 2or4 door dx vs 2001 dx coupe

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

DroverDX

Hey, i'm fairly new to this whole swap business, and i'm trying to decide which build would be right for me. Keep in mind that I wont be able to drive either until Feb. of 2010 and that they will be daily driven. I’m trying to decide between picking up a 95 4 door DX (my old car, the one that I lost my licence with. I know the guy that bought her and he will probably sell her back to me.) Or I may pick up a cheap 95 coupeDX...not sure yet. In this car, I would put a 92-95 B18C1 (GSR) full swap purchased from the net. I don’t want to turbo it unless it can be done and still stay economical as a daily driver. Out of that I would be looking for about 200-220+WHP and if possible, increase the redline to 8500+(9000 ideally but this may be optimistic). My other option is to pick up a fairly cheap 01 coupe DX (it has to be DX for insurance reasons...which are that they are through the roof for me.) the motor for this one would be a 2001+ K20-Type R full swap purchased from the net. From this I would be hoping for 250+WHP and a redline of 9500+(10000 ideally if possible). Again I want to stay away from a turbo unless the same parameters can be followed, because I’ve herd of a lot of problems from turbo cars as daily drivers unless they were factory.

Your input would be greatly appreciated, and if there is anything wrong with what I said above feel free to set me straight. In case anyone’s wondering why i’m planning on getting a full swap online (because from what I can see all of you get the motor and everything else at different stages of your build) its because I live in Newfoundland, Canada and up here people aren’t as enthusiastic, well some are but most aren’t, and its harder to get parts and good help. And thanks again for any help that you can give me.

-Chris