trying to install gauges...

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

eg6sir

Supa Mod
VIP
ok i have posted on this before...but nobody ever answered my ?....where do i hook up the red wire for indiglo gauges...? i know the black one is the ground and the red one is power, but what do i hook it up to..??

a 12v source preferably one that is ignition opperated. or you can install a toggle switch for the current and turn it on and off when you want the guages to glow.

....your battery. of course you could setup your head light switch too that way they are only on with your head lights.

so i will need to run it to my battery!?!?!? i have no idea of what you are telling me... i am a noob with wiring..what do i connect the wire to...?? i am so confused..i've looked at the wires and it blows my mind when i see all of them...i dont even know where to begin..

ummm if you dont know what you are doing, id have an audio guy do it, and watch him. I can wire shit to jello (yeah...its 1230...those are the kinda descriptions you get) If it were me, i would take apart my steering column, find the hotwire for the headlights, and splice my hot wire into that. Then i would run it back to the guages.

For a temp fix you get a toggle switch and wire it from your battery, through the firewall, behind your stereo to a plate under your radio. on the plate have a toggle switch. We wired a friend of mine's nitrous that way...not too difficult.

Quoted post[/post]]
If it were me, i would take apart my steering column, find the hotwire for the headlights, and splice my hot wire into that. Then i would run it back to the guages.

what color would this "hotwire" be.. i have a 94 civic vx

well there are gonna be 2 wires...one is going to be black...its probably not that one.

on the left side of the steering column that isnt black. i havent done it yet, so i couldnt tell you. But im quite sure it will work