1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

tuning b16a

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by Yurik, Apr 13, 2007.

  1. Yurik

    Yurik New Member

    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    i am interested in tuning my b16, it has bolt ons like exhaust, intake, throttle body, etc, my friends were telling me that you can gain a lot of performance, even on my currently all motor setup, so i was wondering exactly what gains i could/should expect if i were to take my car and get it tuned, as well as what would change

    my car is currently equipt with obd0 but i plan to convert to obd1, the skunk2 obd1 ecu claims a 20+hp gain, according to their dyno chart, obviously thats eliminating emissions and many other things

    obviously obd1 is a better idea, being there are better and more programs for it then obd0, but i was wondering also if i should convert to obd1 before anyone even touchs the car, just some general questions, being this will probably be the next thing i do

    i also plan to turbo, hopefully this summer if i can get enough money together, would it be worth it to tune for my all motor then retune for the turbo, or should i jus wait until i am forced induction?
     
  2. 9000_red

    9000_red Junior Member

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    i'd recommend learning how to tune your setup yourself, using crome or a similar obd1 tuning program, then step up to the turbo after you learn a few things. i jumped into the turbo/tuning all at once, and it was a major headache. take your time, start small, and you'll waste less time and money.
     
  3. Yurik

    Yurik New Member

    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    is it worth it to tune on the motor first, or are the gains so small that it would only be worth it to learn crome?
     
  4. 801CRX

    801CRX Got Rice?

    Messages:
    1,347
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    UTAH
    Tuning is a great way to get the full potential out of your car. And is highly recommended.

    But if your still in the process of adding parts and changing things then wait to get it tuned. Because there is no point in spending the money to have it tuned, when your still doing things to the motor.

    Add whatever you want to it then get it tuned!!!
     
  5. 801CRX

    801CRX Got Rice?

    Messages:
    1,347
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    UTAH
    Or street tune it yourself for now.
     
  6. Yurik

    Yurik New Member

    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    well, being im converting from obd0 to obd1 im sure i should wait until i convert so i can run crome
     
  7. 9000_red

    9000_red Junior Member

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    i'd look into learning about crome, and what all is involved, and spend your money on that. save the money on tuning now and spend it towards your own setup.
     
  8. 801CRX

    801CRX Got Rice?

    Messages:
    1,347
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    UTAH
    Exactly my point add what you want on to it then tune.

    See SIMPLICITY!
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. Yurik

    Yurik New Member

    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    lol thanks man, +rep
     
  10. Crimson_jay

    Crimson_jay New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    I have a 91 civic dx swapped with a jdm b16 and using the pr3 ecu. I am guessing that this is OBD0. So I know of a thread in the forum that shows you how to convert from obd0 -> obd1 but is converting the simple process of rewiring and resoldering or does this conversion involve other parts? Just trying to see if I can benefit from the conversion to OBD1.
     
  11. TheManRSW

    TheManRSW TheManRSW

    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    I think they make conversion harnesses. Rywire maybe?
     
  12. amarlondis

    amarlondis New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    can anybody show me how to covert a dpfi-mpfi without a resistor box,because I've a complete intake maniold from a 92-95 civic and the injectors doesn't use resistor box,or I've to change the injectors
     
  13. dbone_vtec

    dbone_vtec HONDA 4 LIFE

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Location:
    MASS
    again?
     
  14. Crimson_jay

    Crimson_jay New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    First of all, what is your car setup? There is a thread on the forum that helps you convert from DPFI -> MPFI which includes the resistor. What is your reason for not including the resistor?
     
  15. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    threadjackers need to die
     
  16. dbone_vtec

    dbone_vtec HONDA 4 LIFE

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Location:
    MASS
    HA:laughing1:
     
  17. amarlondis

    amarlondis New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    I've been told that it can be done and I only have resistors (92-95 del sol)that doesn't use resistor
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page