1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Turbo questions...need help

Discussion in 'Forced Induction' started by grod_07, Apr 9, 2008.

  1. grod_07

    grod_07 New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    I recently swapped a OBD 1 JDM B18C GSR into my 98 Civic Ex. The next project I wanted to do was install a turbo kit. Can I just install a turbo kit or do I need to do some important things before I get one? I want to run between 300-400 HP. Also what is the best set up for the best price? Please experts help me!!
     
  2. newb

    newb phresh VIP

    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    179
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Backwoods Northwest
    If you want to run that much power your gunna need to get other parts as well. There are other threads throughout this forum that answer this question, if you read those you will get a pretty good idea of what you need.
     
  3. awptickes

    awptickes unimpressed by you VIP

    Messages:
    9,279
    Likes Received:
    499
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    MD
    The best setup for the best price is on eBay. Type in "Best Turbo Kit Ever" then buy everything that comes up.


    Seriously, do some research. If there was a best setup, don't you think everyone would have it?
     
  4. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Dude!!! It's that easy?!? Why didn't anyone tell me this?!?

    *surfs over to E-Bay and starts buying crap-tastic turbo parts
     
  5. newb

    newb phresh VIP

    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    179
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Backwoods Northwest
    You didnt already know!?! Thats what all the cool kids are doin! E-Bay means power nowadays.
     
  6. amadeuscr

    amadeuscr Member

    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    I am starting to think that this is the worst place to get help, there is no serious people here, I believe that if you don't have an answer that helps the guy who is asking , is better not to post anything. I have seen this in a lot of threads in honda swap!

    and for the thread poster, you have to get sleeved , forged rods and pistons , arp , good guality gasket, nice clutch, , get 750cc injectors .

    the rest is turbo kit and tuning !
     
  7. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    lol but if i had a dime for every time us 'non serious' regulars had to post that, i'd have a McLaren F1 by now. seriously. this is super searchable.
     
  8. 90DATeggy

    90DATeggy The Pussi Snatcher

    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Location:
    FL
    u can run safely turbo boost at 6-9psi with a boost controller,waste gate,BOV,turbo timer and a small inter cooler and ur oil lines of course
     
  9. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    I'll tell the jokes around here, k? :)

    You do not have to sleeve the block for 300 whp. And you do not need 750cc injectors either.

    Just take your car with the swap, boost the stock engine with a decent sized 60 trim, peakboost makes a nice setup for the money. You will need larger injectors, fuel pump, engine management and tuning. Honestly, you can make 300whp easily on the stock engine and still have reliability on pump gas. I've seen and done it before. 11psi, 60trim on stock gsr engine making 305whp and being so much fun on the street.
     
  10. grod_07

    grod_07 New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    All good ideas guys. I agree, some of these people can be a little imature. I was hoping I can do 300 stock and later buy the upgraded internals. Would you recommend AEM or Greddy e-manage. I'm really thinking more AEM even though it's real expensive.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page