1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Turboedit: OBD0 Represent!!!

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by MikeBergy, Mar 14, 2005.

  1. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI
    I am getting my engine back from rocket motorsports in a couple of weeks, and need to look into getting a basemap burned to a chip. Question: I have never used any chip burning software. I understand the setups on the actual software, and how to edit the maps, but how is it actually burned from that file? I will probably be getting something similar to the pocket programmer to burn chips, or possibly a romulator. When you go to burn a chip, do you just save that modded map from the program to a bin file, and then transfer the bin to the programmer? I am not exactly how the program gets on to the chip from the software. Thanks in advance. Pills, jump in if you have the time, I know you know hondata pretty well, so maybe you know. Thanks
     
  2. racintweek

    racintweek Senior Member

    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    search for projekteg on that site, he did a write up about using the willems burner
     
  3. projekteg

    projekteg Senior Member

    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    it sounds like you understand pretty well. yes, the rom editor (program itself, i.e. turbo edit, hondata, uberdata, etc.) is used to make changes to the .bin file, then you save those changes to the actual .bin file and then open the .bin file with your chip burner software (has nothing to do with the program you used to edit the .bin) and basically all you see is a bunch of binary data, then you use the programmer to burn/program the .bin file to the actual chip. just think of it as the chip is a cd and the burner is your cd burner, same priciple just different types of media ;)
     
  4. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI
    Gotcha. Thanks. I was not thinking the rom burner came with software, but that wouldn't make sense. Is getting a romulator instead of a chip burner a worthwhile investment? After all, I'd only be tuning that car, not a bunch of cars, so it would cut down on having to buy extraneous equipment. ANy yeas/nays?
     
  5. UDT

    UDT Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,015
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Location:
    california


    Well thats up to you, i mean you got the right idea, but the price for the extra stuff really isint that much. And considering your geting into a pretty indepth part of modding these cars, you may as well go all out if its not gonna cost much. Plus why go this far if only to stop short of that? I mean mme i would go with the romulator and burner. But if it helps may go romulator,, and then get the burner after you get pissed for not buying it first.
     
  6. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    a romulator doesn't burn chips though...

    if you have the cash, id go with both. it makes tuning asooooooooooo much easiesr and faster.
     
  7. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI


    When you mean faster, do you mean like it could save me the cost of the romulator in tuning time faster?

    Edit: just read the fine print on the Romulator. It only keeps its program for like 18 hours max. Not a permanent fixture like the s200 Hondata unit. I still might get due to the argument Brian brought up. Thanks guys.
     
  8. projekteg

    projekteg Senior Member

    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    not sure if te had ostrich support yet, but the ostrich stores settings for 75 years, so no need for a burner also, and they're only 175 bucks from moates.net, i love mine! rtp owns!
     
  9. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI

    RTP? I am not familiar with that term, real time programming? Also, will the ostrich emulate the type of eprom found in OBD0 ecu's? PGMFI.org states that it is a 38256 eprom.

    EDIT: Off the moates.net site:



    Guess I just answered my own question. Thanks projekteg, what's your name, btw? I am wondering how much you would charge to socket a pr4 ecu for me?
    PM me when you get a chance, thanks.
     
  10. rgbintx

    rgbintx Junior Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005

    I personally use TurboEdit and love it! I am running the 1 wire VTEC through my A/C compressor controller. Running a D16z6 with 8 lbs of boost.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page