1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

turbomirage's new type r computer

Discussion in 'Members' Lounge' started by Slammed90Lude, Apr 27, 2004.

  1. Slammed90Lude

    Slammed90Lude Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Location:
    milford, PA
    pentium4 3.0GHZ with HT
    640mb PC2700 DDR RAM
    120gb ATA133 HDD
    Sound Blaster Live! Digital Card
    K-World TV Tuner and Composite/S-Video Recorder
    nVidia GeForce4 Ti4100 128mb DDR Graphics


    that's what it has- basically he was too lazy to post this himself, hopefully he won't make me look like an ass and not follow up with some pictures
     
  2. JDMilan

    JDMilan Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    :shrug:
     
  3. Havok

    Havok Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,827
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Florida
    640 MB ram? lame, I got a gig, and my comp is 2 years old. :)
     
  4. JDMilan

    JDMilan Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    bastard................
     
  5. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
  6. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA

    i had 1.5gb on my since replaced dual processor board. lesson learned you just dont need that much once you have all other new components to handle the load.
     
  7. JDMilan

    JDMilan Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    jesus christ........feel like I am at a club
     
  8. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
  9. Citizen_Insane

    Citizen_Insane Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    psssh, weak!!!

    I'll never own a single processor computer AGAIN!!
    Right now I'm running dual PIII Xeon 1gHz 133mHz FBS and My computer is still faster than lots of p4s.

    My new setup this summer:
    -Dual Xeon 3.06gHz HT
    -dual 40gig and a 120gig HDs
    -2 gig of ram
    -NVIDIA Quadro4 700 XGL card

    ...if you couldnt tell by now, I'm going for a Render machine for my 3d graphic shit...and hopefully it'll run Half Life 2 also :ph34r:
     
  10. asmallsol

    asmallsol Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Houghton/Livonia Michigan
    ricer! How many mhz's did those neons add?


    :p
     
  11. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA

    none. its all processor baby. B)
     
  12. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA

    some of us have money, some of us dont.

    my dual processor machine was nice, but it lacks something needed that most new pc's have. bus speed. its great to have 2ghz, and 1.5gb of ram - but what good was it with only a 133mhz fsb? it wasnt.

    i had an old gf2 440mx 64 in my old box before i bought the gf4 - no lie the gf2 outperformed the gf4 during the vana'diel bench (ffix). now its quite the other way around.
     
  13. Slammed90Lude

    Slammed90Lude Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Location:
    milford, PA
    was that in english? i went to translator.com but there was no "nerd to english" button?
     
  14. MaaseyRacer

    MaaseyRacer Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    San Francisco, Ca.
  15. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX

    You're just not l33t enough... and that's not even real nerd speak. It's too bad you don't get to hear my housemate describe gate architecture in IBM's Power series chips to me, and their significance on overall chip speed and pipeline length in relation to chip speed along with both of their effect on latency and different physical process sizes' capability to support them.

    :lmao:

    By the way, nice setup TurboMirage! That's just like my main machine that I haven't upgrade in 2 years... except I have no lights save the water temperature display on the top of the tower.

    :lmao: :lmao: :lmao:
     
  16. Sabz5150

    Sabz5150 FALCON PUNCH!!!

    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    My old system, made from collected parts

    MD K6-2 400Mhz processor
    192MB ram
    Nvidia Geforce2 MX400 video card 1
    Nvidia Riva 128 video card 2
    Matrox Mystique video card 3
    DLink 10/100 NIC
    USB 2.0 card
    Soundblaster 16 ISA soundcard (Hey, no more PCI slots)
    1 2.5 GB internal hard drive
    1 6.4 GB internal hard drive
    1 2.5 GB external USB hard drive
    4x2x24 CDRW drive
    4x DVD+-RW drive

    OS: Slackware 9.1, Linux 2.4.25 with KDE 3.1 desktop

    [​IMG]

    3072x768 total resolution.
     
  17. 90 accord

    90 accord Chicks dig the box Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    5,008
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ

    i have more disc space used in albums(music) alone then you do total. it's almost nearly 2ce what you have.. how can you stand it?!? :blink: :spin:
     
  18. Sabz5150

    Sabz5150 FALCON PUNCH!!!

    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003

    I have a 50 pack of DVD-R's sitting right next to me ;)
     
  19. 90 accord

    90 accord Chicks dig the box Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    5,008
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    ahh, thats how you do it, lol
     
  20. Sabz5150

    Sabz5150 FALCON PUNCH!!!

    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003

    Yup. I snagged the 50 pack from a friend who had trouble burning them. Seems like Linux does a bit better job burning DVDs than Windows does. Anyway, what I don't spend on massive drive space I save for something more...

    [​IMG]

    ...useful.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page