1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Turning a laptop into a DVR?????

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by chestercheeto48, Nov 28, 2007.

  1. chestercheeto48

    chestercheeto48 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    57
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Location:
    madison, WI
    What is the easiest way to turn my laptop into a basic/quality DVR to record shows off cable tv? My wife still uses her old VCR from time to time but it is starting to take a crap on us and I don't want to buy a DVD recorder or spend the cash to upgrade to digital cable to get a dvr from our cable company. I know that there are tuners and cards for laptops out there but I do not have any experience with any of them. I would basically just want to record an ocassional tv program to watch when I can't be home. Is there also any way to set it up like a standard DVR to record all airings of a specifics show? I have seen the mythTV thread so I know some of you have some experience with this sort of thing.

    Here are the cliffs:

    Have a HP laptop running XP media edition
    Want to record and play back cable tv shows
    Can I do this, if so what do I need to accomplish this?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. tegger1

    tegger1 Don't hate, its not for u

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    :Dif you already have microsoft media home edition, then u need a way to "link" ur laptop to the computer. Via a wire. How new is ur t.v.? does it have at least an s-video port. If so you can go to Frys or another big computer parts store and just find cable that mate into ur computer and t.v. You might have to have a lot of connectors, but it will work. Assuming u get that squared away, then all u have to do is follow the instructions on microsoft.com. U should be golden. I did this a while back with my computer, but i just wanted to watch t.v. on my Lcd. I currently have this same set-up, but with my xbox360. If u have one then it'll only cost u like 25.00, other wise it might be a little more with the custom job. Good luck, if u need any more help, then just pm me.:D
     
  3. tegger1

    tegger1 Don't hate, its not for u

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Oh, i just though of something. u might want to buy an external hard drive dedicated only for ur shows. I say that cause it will slow ur laptop down horribly. One show is potentially a lot of memory.
     
  4. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,580
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    dude you're retarded. his laptop would be the extender. not another computer.

    you need some sort of TV tuner, you can get one at staples/best buy/online etc. hauppage ones seem to be good, or ATI ones. they plug in via USB or cardbus.
     
  5. chestercheeto48

    chestercheeto48 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    57
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Location:
    madison, WI

    Thank you! That is exactly what I am looking for in a response. I am assuming that both of these types of tv tuner card can use the red/yellow/white cable hook-ups correct? Is there a type of card that would plug in (usb/cardbus) and allow me to strictly just run the cable to my lap top? I would love to eliminate the extra tv and just leave the laptop on my desk in my office. I have a cable hook-up that is not being used in there. If not then I guess I can go from cable to tv to laptop. Thank for the help.
     
  6. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,580
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    YES a USB tuner would let you do those things and record.

    you mean COAX cable? you can find USB tuners that accept COAX as well ;)
     
  7. chestercheeto48

    chestercheeto48 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    57
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Location:
    madison, WI
    Yep I was talking about COAX. I will do some shopping around. Thanks again.
     
  8. chestercheeto48

    chestercheeto48 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    57
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Location:
    madison, WI
  9. nootrac22

    nootrac22 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    4,331
    Likes Received:
    131
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Location:
    exeter pa
    also any of the ATI "all-in-wonder" cards are good
     
  10. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,580
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    they are old, and for desktops.
     
  11. nootrac22

    nootrac22 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    4,331
    Likes Received:
    131
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Location:
    exeter pa
    good point. sorry bout that.
     
  12. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,580
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
  13. Sabz5150

    Sabz5150 FALCON PUNCH!!!

    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
  14. chestercheeto48

    chestercheeto48 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    57
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Location:
    madison, WI
  15. YouKnowWhoIBee

    YouKnowWhoIBee my avatar is better.

    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Maryland
    I have a media center IR receiver/remote, and a usb coax tuner that came with my laptop. I have never used it, but I will get rid of it if you want it. I will sell it for 80 shipped. This is ment for media center and uses the remote with the media center button :)
     
  16. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,455
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    NTSC = analog cable
    ATSC = over-the-air HD broadcasts
    QAM = unscrambled cable


    If you want to pull cable, get something with QAM
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page