1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Two Nics

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by Drake, Jan 18, 2006.

  1. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    8,633
    Likes Received:
    420
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Here is a basic review of my network I want to build. 4 PC's 1 Xbox. Now for the hardware. I have one pc with two nics in it with Server 2k3 installed on it. I am also using a switch which complicates things a tad. My ISP is Comcast.

    What I want to do is run the line from my "modem" into the first nic on my server and then run a line out into the switch which is where my other three computers and Xbox are hooked up. Im not really sure how to go about doing this. I know I need to set up my server as DHCP/DNS but after that Im pretty lost. Im sure there is alot of information I didnt put up so please let me know if you need more info. Thanks.
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    so you want to do this?


    cable -- server --- switch/router --- other comps/xbox?
     
  3. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    8,633
    Likes Received:
    420
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
  4. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    thats easy. all you really have to do is enable ICS on your server, so it will pass traffic through its gateway (ip of the nic that connects to the modem). and then plug everything in. make sure your other pc's and the xbox are on the same ip level though. the switch doesnt need to be configured.
     
  5. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    8,633
    Likes Received:
    420
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    I did some research on Internet Connection Sharing and it seems that i will not share some resources such as MSN messenger. So that seems to me that me trying to log into Xbox Live would cause a problem. Have you used ICS before? Thanks for the advice too.
     
  6. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    you shouldnt have any problems unless you are signing in twice under the same accounts.
     
  7. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    yeah, youre sharing an internet connection as long as you have MSN on both computers, i dont see why you couldnt log on. Your basically just having another server in your internet connection. Its not a big deal. XBox Live shouldnt have a problem either.
     
  8. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    Why don't you just buy a router and get it over with?
     
  9. Sabz5150

    Sabz5150 FALCON PUNCH!!!

    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Or at least use a proper operating system. Getting Windows to do that kind of thing is like pulling teeth and *USING* it for that kind of thing is even worse.

    It takes, on average, 24 hours from the time you put a Windows system on the net with nothing in between it till it is pwn3d.
     
  10. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    8,633
    Likes Received:
    420
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Well I ended up getting a router from a friend. Part of the reason I wanted to use the switch was just for the fun of it and im poor as shit and cant afford a router. It would have been kinda cool to set up the dual nics but I dont feel like messing with it at this time. Thanks for the help and advice guys. Take it easy.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page