1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ultimate Edition 1.9 (Linux)

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by xj0hnx, Sep 14, 2008.

  1. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Ultimate Edition 1.9 | Harty Hotrod

    A new distro I am trying, pretty cool so far.
    Very easy install, and grub plays nice with Vistas Legacy boot-loader, so now I am triple booting XP, Vista, and Ubuntu. It's based on Ubuntu Hardy Heron.

    If you're looking for a new distro, I recommend giving it a try, especially if you're coming from Windows.
     
  2. cheese9988

    cheese9988 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,990
    Likes Received:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    Looks cool. I'm using Mint now, Ubuntu based, but has all the codecs, flash and java built in. Nice visuals too.

    Looks like Ultimate has every visual ever made build into it. Is it any easier to use, whats the functionality like?
     
  3. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    I had to add a couple programs, and am disappointed the Photoshop CS3 doesn't run under Wine, which is installed from the get, other than that, everything I have plug into it was recognized, and all the installed programs work like a charm. All the effects in Compiz are pretty cool, but can be distracting. It has mp3 support, but for some reason pops up the "you need this codec" box. HD movies play fine. My graphics card works great, dual monitors and all, seems pretty easy so far.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2008
  4. cheese9988

    cheese9988 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,990
    Likes Received:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    The effects look sweet on that! The faded windows don't always work correctly on mine.
    The codec problem was one of the reasons I went to Mint, it had the Ubuntu support with almost everything installed.
    Linux is almost there, really it only needs one of two things, or both: more of the same Windows programs written for Linux, or Wine that works out of the box.
     
  5. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Im just not for the "bells and whistles" distros. I run debian 4.0 on all my home machines. My laptop runs Ubuntu 8.04 and my Workstation runs 7.10.

    All my hardware at home is super low end, but i never ever have to wait for crap to load.

    1.) 1.2GHz Athlon 512MB Ram. Debian 4.0
    2.) Sempron 2600+ 512MB Ram. Debian 4.0
    3.) 900MHz Celeron 256MB Ram. Debian 4.0
    4.) 1.6GHz Pentium M 1GB Ram. Ubuntu 8.04
    5.) Pentium E2160 2GB Ram. Ubuntu 7.10
     
  6. cheese9988

    cheese9988 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,990
    Likes Received:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    I like the bells and whistles so I don't have to install anything. I'm still a newbie. I can write some basic shell scripts now, but thats about it. :)
     
  7. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,582
    Likes Received:
    697
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    i run vista enterprise on a high end machine, and the only thing i wait for is the damn hondaswap page to load.
     
  8. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    well chris...youre just crazy....what is it that you need windows for?
     
  9. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,582
    Likes Received:
    697
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    spore :)

    and the fact that 95% of my customers are running windows... the other 5% are macs.
     
  10. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    Which is why I triple boot, there's still way too much that Windows does that Linux can't, and probably won't. though CoD 4 can run in WINE, and if I can get Linux to recognize the control for my flight simulator I'll have less reason to go to Windows. Honestly, if Linux had support for Roboform I'd rarely crank up Windows. I can get it to install and run in WINE, but since it is a "virtual" machine it can't find Firefox, even if I tell it where to look.
     
  11. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,582
    Likes Received:
    697
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    i dont run barely any windows programs in my install, must be why its so quick.

    basically-
    Office2k7 Enterprise
    VMWare (XP VM to connect to work domain)
    DVDDecrypt and DVDShrink
    Super DVD Creator
    Bittorrent
    Dameware
    bartPE Builder
    Sprint EVDO Manager
    UltraVNC
    Citrix Desktop
    Blackberry Desktop Manager
    Spore

    yeah thats pretty much all i have installed.
     
  12. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    I liek the shiny. Seriously though, I like running, and installing from a GUI, nothing is mroe annoying then

    ./configure
    make
    make install

    Crap, dependencies, open some congif edit, add repositories, su get-apt blah blah blah

    ./configure
    make
    make install

    cd /home/john/desktop
    ./configure
    make
    make install

    fingers crossed...yippy

    I did get uTorrent working under WINE, so that's cool, I don't care for Azureus, and the others it comes bundled with.
     
  13. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Wow, I've got probably over two hundred apps installed 0.o I tinker a lot though, trying out new programs all the time, but even so Vista still boots up just a touch slower than Linux.
     
  14. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,582
    Likes Received:
    697
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    i also vLited this install... so its not a standard config.
     
  15. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    So half the stuff you use is available in linux distros...without compiling anything.
     
  16. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,582
    Likes Received:
    697
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    yeah but considering ive had the same vista install for over a year with no issues whatsoever why change?

    plus thats just extra space taken up by linux. ive only got a 120GB hdd. dont really want to clutter it up at all.
     
  17. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    ext3 is not clutter...its beauty.
     
  18. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,582
    Likes Received:
    697
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    beauty is in the eye of the beerholder :)
     
  19. cheese9988

    cheese9988 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,990
    Likes Received:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    I don't run very many Windows applications either, most things you can do in windows, you can do under Linux.

    The only things I have had to use Windows for is:

    Wow (actually ran fine until I upgraded my vid drivers :()
    Access database (for work, we use it for everything its got, openoffice has no clue what to do)
    An electronic leveling program (for work again)
     
  20. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    For wow make sure you are using the envy drivers.

    apt-get install envyng
    envyng -t
    pick your graphics card and have fun.

    NOTE!!!!: Backup /etc/X11/xorg.conf just incase your display gets jacked up. That way you can reinstall your drivers and revert xorg.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page