1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Unknown wire/plug

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by street_racer_271, Jul 17, 2006.

  1. street_racer_271

    street_racer_271 adrenaline is my high

    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    manitoba
    Does anyone know what this wire is? I was told to look for a black stick plug with one wire coming off it, and replace it with my water temp sensor, so I think I might of found it, but I'm just making sure. So any help would be appreciated. thanks
    http://www.cardomain.com/ride/479214/9 i put the pics on there cause I don't know how to put them on here, but any help will be appreciated, thanks again
     
  2. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    it looks to be the water temp sender.. is it a single wire?? 1/4 in thick plug??
     
  3. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    if thats the dizzy at the top of the pic, then yeah, thats the water temp sensor
     
  4. street_racer_271

    street_racer_271 adrenaline is my high

    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    manitoba
    k thanks guys, so do i take that sensor out? and install my autometer one? or what
     
  5. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    you can tap into the wire.. the autometer sensor wont fit there.. you'd have to get a attachment to put in your Radiator hose..
     
  6. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    I didn't tap into the wire really, I went straight onto the sender with bare wire and put the plug back on over it.
     
  7. street_racer_271

    street_racer_271 adrenaline is my high

    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    manitoba
    i tapped the wire into there and it works, just wondering, whats the water temp suppose to be, im running about 85-92 degrees celcius
     
  8. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    normal running temp for a b16 is 180f from what i was told and that is 82c so its runs a little warm..
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page