1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Update on bogging problem

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by ThatGuy4life, Feb 9, 2007.

  1. ThatGuy4life

    ThatGuy4life The Riced Sleeper

    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    So as ya'll know, since I've finished my swap i've been having problems with the motor bogging at 5500rpm in every gear right when vtec should kick in. The codes i've thrown since the swap, were, random misfires, all 4 cylinders misfires, and use to be randomly a knock sensor code now permanent knock sensor code. What I've done in the past 3 months. New Ngk performance wires, new cap and rotor, new/bigger injectors 440cc, new fuel pump 255lph, aem fpr, new main relay, swapped out tps, timing has been checked and still the problem remains Also put in new NGK iridiums this past Saturday after only having my other iridiums in for 3 months but figured since I changd the wires might as well change the plugs. The only thing left for me to do is change the fuel filter and knock sensor, as on Monday while I was going through the engine I noticed that the knock sensor wasn't were it should be, the clip was just hanging under the im. Other than what's listed I don't know what the problem is.
    Here's what I'm running, just in case you don't remember:
    2000 Civic Si, with built 2000 Integra Type R engine
    Head is ported and polished,
    Crower rods,
    JE pistons,
    12:1 compression,
    Skunk 2 stage 2 cams,
    REV Valves springs and retainers,
    skunk 2 intake manifold,
    Act flywheel,
    RPS six puck sprung hub clutch,
    AEM cam gears,
    AEM fuel rail,
    STR cam seal,
    K2 cold air intake,
    throttle body spacer,
    JDM ITR 4-1 headers,
    APC catback exhaust system.
     
  2. onesikdb8

    onesikdb8 Member

    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Location:
    AZ
    what ECU are you running?
     
  3. ThatGuy4life

    ThatGuy4life The Riced Sleeper

    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    stock 2000 si ecu P2T until my chipped P28 gets in been waiting for it for a lil over 3 weeks now :( , also was running a skunk2 B16 ecu but had the same problem
     
  4. ThatGuy4life

    ThatGuy4life The Riced Sleeper

    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
  5. welfare

    welfare Ancient Member

    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    woah, sounds like your vtec isnt working at all, I can see where your misfire codes are coming from. . .
    Im jsut about stumped, but wondering a little about the 440cc injectors, But im sure you had the problem before with the stock injectors otherwise you wouldn;t have upgraded. . .
    running too rich causes a misfire too, but you would have noticed the fuel mileage sucking ass.
    I just talked to my brother who had a 99 gsr with a similar problem, it ended up that he was low on oil and it caused his car to bog when he got into the vtec lobe, and it threw a CEL, he can't remember what the CEL was cuz he just added oil and the car was fine. BUT when he asked why it did what it did it was because there was not enough oil pressure to activate the vtec, he suggests you check your vtec solenoid and your vtec oil pressure switch. Maybe you don't have a complete failure, but I have seen the screens get plugged and cause erratic vtec operation. I can't believe that I didn't think of this before.
    Hey, when you're out of options I guess every little bit helps.
     
  6. ThatGuy4life

    ThatGuy4life The Riced Sleeper

    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    I check the oil just about every week and refill when needed, the vtec solenoid is new but I checked it a few weeks ago and it's still working, switch, and plunger, the screen is clean as well. I'm not getting misfire cides anymore, since I bought new plugs last week. That cel is/was for my knock sensor. somehow it fell out of the block, so I bought a new one yesterday.

    Here's something else to add to the equation, when I unplugged the tps, there was no bogging, would this equate to a faulty tps even though it's not throwing a cel for the tps?
     
  7. welfare

    welfare Ancient Member

    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    did you try switching the tps and the map plugs? I may have suggested that before. The plugs are identical and can easily be mixed up.
     
  8. ThatGuy4life

    ThatGuy4life The Riced Sleeper

    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    Naw the map plug isn't long enough to reach plus I would get a cel if they were cross
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page