1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

usdm 97 Civic ex d16y8 swap to 2001 Civic si chasis

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by Hondacivicsichasis, Feb 3, 2007.

  1. Hondacivicsichasis

    Hondacivicsichasis newbie

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario
    Hey gearheads, (note this is a stock USDM scenario)
    I have a 2001 Civic si complete chasis minus the Engine, Trans, ECU, and Cat. Converter.
    I have installed (due to short pockets) a Stock complete 1997 Civic Ex Coupe motor/trans, harness and ecu. The block reads D16y8.
    Symptoms......
    Now the engine turns, but there is no fuel. )The fuel pump and fuses have all been checked)
    Reverse lights do not come on when in reverse.

    My theory is that the green connection from the 97 harness down by the ECU
    does not connect correctly with the green 2001 si chassis harness.

    My reason for this is the 2001 si Chassis harness has 10 pins and the 97 harness has apx 21 pins. the connector is a good fit but the pins do not match up....

    Spending time on various threads I think I may need a conversion from the 1997 OBD2a compatible harness to the OBD2b 2001 Si chassis harness.

    This is where I am, I don't know any mech shops that can help, most don't even know what I am talking about.

    Anyone had this problem???? Whats the solution????
     
  2. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    why would you do that??
     
  3. Hondacivicsichasis

    Hondacivicsichasis newbie

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario
    Because I already had the 1997 Eng/Trans , Harness and ECU when I bought the 2001 SI with no engine,trans,harness or ECU.
    Seemed like a match to me....
     
  4. herminshs

    herminshs Junior Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    97 ecu and harness is OBD2A, the SI is OBD2B, and yes, there is a difference.

    I recommend that you do one of two things, in which I stress number 2:

    1. Get a OBD2A engine harness and plug it in, and everything should work.

    2. Get rid of that yunk of a motor that DOES NOT BELONG IN A SI!!!!
    Get a b16a2, which is the FACTORY motor for that car, use the correct harness, slap it in, and you then will feel what a SI really is.
     
  5. Hondacivicsichasis

    Hondacivicsichasis newbie

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario
    Thanks for the help....

    Yeah I just picked up (off a coworker) a Stock 2000 si B16 w/ 40k miles comes with ECU,Harness,Cluster,and MSD ignition. Price was my problem but I got this for $1200 after transportation cost. So I will be pulling out the 97 SOHC motor.

    Still if anyone knows of a obd2a to obd2b convervter I'm still curious if there is a solution w/o cutting the harness.
     
  6. Vapochilled

    Vapochilled New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Dear All, I'm swapping my D16y8 on a 1997 coupe. It has obd2a harness. The motor its from 2000. Obd2b, BUT I MANAGED TO GOT A obd2a ECU Question 1 : - I have the Obd2a hardness from D16y8 Vtec. - I have the obd2a ECU from a B16a2 - Can i use this harness? Or do i also need a obd2a harness from a B16a2 because of knock sensors? Question 2: - I had a great deal and i've buyed a P30 - I also have Obd2a to Obd1 - The motor mounted its the B16a2 obd2 - The harness its obd2a also, but its from a D16 - Can use this setup? Or am i missing knock vtec sensors? Do i also need the b16a2 obd2a harness? Mainly my question is: If you have a D16Y8 Obd2a harness. Can you use it on B16a2 obd2 motor and obd2a B16 ECU? Or do you need the trully harness from a B16 obd2a because of some vtec sensors? Question 3: - Whats the CKF trick? Do i need it? Question 4: - Can i use my imobilizor? Or can i swap it (unsold / sold) from my original obd2a D16 ECU to the obd2a B16 ECU? Question5: - How can i bypass the imob if i change ECU since the ECU its from the original motor? Everything its obd2a Question 6: - If i use the P30 with conversion obd2a to obd1 - What are your tips ? Question 7: - Im going to put a B18c5 distributor from a ITR - The motor will be a B16a2 from 2000 - The harness is obd2a - I've looked closer and it looks plug and play. Do i connect it? Or do i need some change? Thank you very much for your support
     
  7. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    dear noob this thread is old and try the search button
     
  8. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Reading over this thread I find myself wondering what the OP was talking about. There was no Si in 2001...
     
  9. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    true,
     
  10. FObangah

    FObangah New Member

    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Location:
    Richmond VA
    He's from Canada. You know the EK coupes ( in EX trim ) were labeld as Si models.....you guys are such nOObs! :p

    *EDIT* as a matter of fact so were the EG coupes.

    Annonces - Craigslist
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2008
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page