1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Used engine break-in period

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by seanjuan, Jul 28, 2003.

  1. seanjuan

    seanjuan Senior Member

    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    what do people think about breaking in used engines. I have read alot of different things. what is the main reason that used engines need to be broken in?

    I've got 200mi on my JDM B16 now and I just want to know if I should keep following the 3k, 3.5k, 4k etc break-in schedule or if I should just open it up and have fun with it

    let's hash this subject out a bit, what have you with swaps done and what do you know works and doesn't work
     
  2. dohcvtec_accord

    dohcvtec_accord WRX Sellout

    Messages:
    8,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    The left lane
    If you didn't rebuild it when you received it, don't worry about breaking it in. Just make sure you replaced the necessary things, like oil, oil filter, plugs, etc.
     
  3. asmallsol

    asmallsol Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Houghton/Livonia Michigan
    What I would do is just change the oil about 500 miles after you instal, just to get all of the old crap in there (since the engine normally has been sitting for 3 plus months.)
     
  4. dohcvtec_accord

    dohcvtec_accord WRX Sellout

    Messages:
    8,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    The left lane

    :werd:
     
  5. seanjuan

    seanjuan Senior Member

    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    so as long as it is just a straight up used engine, no rebuild etc.
    I shouldn't have to worry about breaking it in?

    it was drained of all fluids when I got it, so it has brand new oil and new filter right now. I took it easy on the first 200 or so miles and upped the revs a little since 200 and was planning on changing to oil around 500 or 600, should I change the filter as well, or wait till a few k to change the filter?

    the whole reason for engine breakin is to set the piston rings, correct? this is why I was wondering since it is a used engine then the rings should allready be set. but since I don't know how long the engine was sitting unused it is probably good to take it easy for a little while just to get the oil worked around again?

    thanks guys
    I just don't want to F up my $2500 engine by being an idiot
     
  6. dohcvtec_accord

    dohcvtec_accord WRX Sellout

    Messages:
    8,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    The left lane

    That's it man. Oil and filter after 500. Otherwise, you're good to go.
     
  7. seanjuan

    seanjuan Senior Member

    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    sounds good
    I didn't really want to have to drive the thing like my grandma anymore.

    I'll have a little fun with it on the way home from work today now
    in fact maybe I'll drive somewhere and get lunch

    I'm pumped to see what this thing can do
     
  8. JDMilan

    JDMilan Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    I would replace all fluids, motor oil, tranny oil, coolant, brake/clutch fluid. Like someone posted above, after 500 miles. I always make sure I put in all new gaskets, belts, and pumps.



    Milan
     
  9. seanjuan

    seanjuan Senior Member

    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    I guess I could see replacing fluids that actually go in the motor, but why replace brake and clutch fluid? maybe i'm just not too engine savvy yet

    thanks for the replies, very much appreciated
     
  10. rudeludenotmeanthough

    rudeludenotmeanthough Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    yea.... no break-in, just break.. j/k.
     
  11. seanjuan

    seanjuan Senior Member

    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    if I'm right then the vtec point for this ecu should be around 5600? it's a jdm P30
    should I be able to feel a noticeable difference when vtec kicks in?
    I think I'm going to hook an led up to the vtec lead to see if it's at least sending a signal to the solenoid
     
  12. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    5500, and it maybe very smooth to the point that you don't really "feel" it, but you should notice some acceleration.
     
  13. seanjuan

    seanjuan Senior Member

    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    it deffinately pulls harder as the rpm's rise, I had just heard people talk about feeling a noticable jump in power when vtec engages
     
  14. liquid00meth

    liquid00meth Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Location:
    Laconia, NH
    at like 4200 my engine jerks quite a bit in power and I don't even have vtec. It's just due to the cliff-like hp curve most hondas have
     
  15. 2fastaccord

    2fastaccord Senior Member

    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    You should feel a nice kick from the vtec.

    Peace*
     
  16. asmallsol

    asmallsol Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Houghton/Livonia Michigan
    If you feel a kick from VTEC, your actiavtion point should be changed. VTEC should be a smooth engagement.
     
  17. seanjuan

    seanjuan Senior Member

    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    cool, like I said before, I think my project tonight will be to make a ghetto vtec light just to make sure it's getting a signal
    is there a way to check the solonoid to make sure it works right?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page