1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Using a laptop as a ecu or something?

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by drpenguin, Nov 8, 2004.

  1. drpenguin

    drpenguin Senior Member

    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Location:
    Salem, Or
    Could a laptop be mounted in a car and act as your ecu? What about having it mounted in the car to give you real time info about whats going on? Maybe on the fly changing of settings like vtec engage or rev limiter?
     
  2. Kcihcaton

    Kcihcaton Senior Member

    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004


    omg that would be uber like from fast and furious
    w00t1
     
  3. Kcihcaton

    Kcihcaton Senior Member

    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    i think you can with hondata, but im a n00b and no nothing
     
  4. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI
    Uh, you need an ecu. To make your laptop into your ecu, you'd have to write a huge program that has several engine inputs, then you'd have to have software to monitor all the sensors dealing with the engine, and then you wou would have to fabricate a controller to interface the laptop and all the sensors together. I know I am missing something, but bottom line, unless you are a computer engineer, there is no way you are going to be able to do that yourself. Even if you were a computer engineer, you'd spend an butt load of money just to build something that has already been built and available at a fraction of a cost. Controlling your ecu is another story, and yes dataloggong software can monitor your engine. But it's only really needed for tuning. The only things important to monitor while driving are able to be monitored with guages, and they are much cheaper than datalogging stuff.
     
  5. Kcihcaton

    Kcihcaton Senior Member

    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
  6. drpenguin

    drpenguin Senior Member

    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Location:
    Salem, Or
    Can you real time data log with a hondata system? I want to mount my laptop in my car and have the read up right there while im driving!
     
  7. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    do you really want windows to run your car? LMAO.

    crash. FUCK i lost another race cuz i blue screened! lol

    hondata supports real-time datalogging.
     
  8. 97CTR

    97CTR Senior Member

    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Hondata datalogger will give you a realtime readout of every engine sensor. You can use a hondata chipped ecu, their s200 blue box. They have a serial connection that connects to your laptop. Also you can get a realtime emulator or a romulator that allows you to make realtime changes to your fuel and ignition curves, vtec, rev limit, etc. 90% of the time I have my laptop in my car :D
     
  9. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State


    Does that require a wideband O2?
     
  10. AllMotorMonster

    AllMotorMonster Senior Member

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Inland Empire foo!
    Could you?

    Yes!

    Would it be cost effective?

    NO!

    Just get Hondata.
     
  11. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    I believe uberdata can do what hondata does as well.
     
  12. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home


    require, no.... but you'll have no idea wtf you've changed or where you were before really.
    theres only so much you can read off the ignition and fuel charts without a resultset (ie, the wideband's a/f curve)
     
  13. 97CTR

    97CTR Senior Member

    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    I also have a PLX wideband O2 hooked up with everything as well. Tuning is alot easier with dataloggin your air fuel ratios. B)
     
  14. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    you can use an emulator; it pretty much hooks up to where the chip with all the maps go. you still need the actual ecu though; just that the maps are stored in the computer; but if the computer crash or something, youre screwed.
     
  15. projekteg

    projekteg Senior Member

    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    an emulator is just used so that you don't have to take the chip out and reburn every time you make adjustments, in the end, you burn the final to a regular eeprom and leave it in the ecu. uberdata does support real time data logging, and should support real time programming on the fly very very very soon :D uberdata owns you :p i have screenshots of teh datalogging graphs, but i host through wee todd did, and they don't support this site :(
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page